Caseware IDEA has been the household name in audit data analytics for longer than most internal auditors have been in the profession, and it remains the tool many teams reach for when they need to test an entire population rather than a sample. The one thing to know before buying a seat is what IDEA is not: it is not an audit-management platform, it has no engagement workflow, issue tracker or audit-committee reporting layer, and outside a single UK government renewal there is no public price to anchor a budget against. What a seat buys is a desktop analytics engine — read-only imports, a defensible audit trail, more than a hundred built-in tests, and a Python bridge for anything the library cannot do.
This review covers what Caseware IDEA is and who owns it, its analysis library and how audit fieldwork uses it, the state of Caseware’s AI additions in 2026, the public price and review evidence, and how IDEA sits next to Arbutus Analyzer, ACL Analytics and a do-it-yourself Python stack. It is one of the product reviews in the site’s independent buyer’s guide to internal audit software and follows the evidence levels and scorecard in how we review audit software. If you are choosing between the three main scripting tools, the IDEA vs Arbutus vs ACL comparison puts them side by side.
Verdict. IDEA remains a sound default for a team that wants defensible, repeatable, full-population testing without committing to a coding-heavy stack, and a single seat is inexpensive next to almost anything else in this guide. It is not a workflow or SOX system, its AI additions are thin and mostly unconfirmed inside the product itself, and buyers get almost no public pricing or named-customer evidence to negotiate against.
Best for. Teams of any size that need scripted, full-population data testing; banks, credit unions and public-sector functions already comfortable with a desktop tool; analytics-heavy shops that want a Python bridge rather than a locked-down no-code layer.
Not for. Teams that want SOX certification workflows, audit-committee reporting or a case-managed issue tracker inside the same product; buyers who need a browser-based or fully cloud-hosted analytics engine (Caseware’s cloud-branded bundle still runs IDEA as desktop software underneath); anyone who needs a confirmed per-seat price before building a budget.
Evidence. Research-based: vendor documentation and release notes, public procurement records, third-party pricing data, verified user reviews on Gartner Peer Insights and G2, and analyst coverage. We have not used the product hands-on for this review.
Price evidence. The only concrete public figure is a one-year IDEA license renewal awarded to UK National Highways on 6 January 2026 through CaseWare UK Limited: £4,998.00 excluding VAT (£5,997.60 including VAT) for 1 February 2026 to 31 January 2027, seat count not stated. No list price, edition tiers or Vendr marketplace listing exist for IDEA.
Last verified. 27 September 2026.
In this guide
- What Caseware IDEA is, and who owns it
- What you get: modules and how audit fits
- Walkthrough by audit stage
- SOX and controls
- Analytics, integrations and automation
- AI: what is real
- The scorecard
- Fit by situation
- Pricing and contract
- What users say
- Implementation and migration
- How it compares
- Questions about Caseware IDEA
- Sources and verification
- Related guides
What Caseware IDEA is, and who owns it
IDEA stands for Interactive Data Extraction and Analysis, made by Caseware International Inc., a Toronto-based company founded in 1988; Caseware acquired the rights to IDEA from the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants in 2000, which is why the product still reads like professional-body software that grew into a commercial tool. Caseware’s scale claims are inconsistent across its own pages: the homepage and About page cite 23,000-plus organizations, 475,000-plus users and 130 countries, while the IDEA brochure instead cites 500,000-plus users, 130-plus countries and nine-plus languages. Both describe Caseware’s whole installed base, spanning Working Papers and Cloud as well as IDEA, so neither is an IDEA-only count.
Hg Capital, the London-based investor, has held majority ownership of Caseware since late 2020; a January 2025 press release calls the Extractly.ai purchase Caseware’s ninth acquisition since Hg took control. Leadership turned over almost entirely in the year that followed: David Marquis became CEO in January 2025 after five years at Intuit, replacing David Osborne, and the company installed a nearly all-new C-suite, keeping only its chief people officer from the prior team. The current About page names Brian Nourani as chief revenue officer where a mid-2025 press account had named Jason Rushforth in that seat; the change was not dated in any source read here, so buyers evaluating vendor stability should ask directly. IDEA sits inside this recently reshuffled company as one of several product lines, alongside Working Papers, Cloud and the AI acquisitions below.
One naming point trips up a lot of buyers. “Caseware Internal Audit,” the phrase that turns up in search, is not a browser-based version of IDEA. Caseware’s solution pages describe it as a bundle: IDEA supplies the full-population analytics, and Working Papers supplies the case-management layer. No evidence of a cloud-hosted or browser-based IDEA turned up anywhere; it remains Windows desktop software, full stop. That also means IDEA is not an audit-management platform such as Optro (formerly AuditBoard) or TeamMate: it has no audit universe, engagement workflow or issue tracker of its own, a distinction the site’s guide to types of internal audit software sets out in full.
| Date | Event | Why it matters to a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| 1988 | Caseware International founded, Toronto | A long enterprise-software history behind the product |
| 2000 | Caseware acquires IDEA’s rights from the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants | IDEA’s origin as a professional-body tool, not a startup product |
| Late 2020 | Hg Capital acquires majority ownership of Caseware | Private-equity ownership; expect renewal discipline |
| 28 May 2024 | Caseware introduces AiDA company-wide, US first | The start of an AI narrative that scales IDEA’s own version down |
| 21 Jan 2025 | Caseware acquires Extractly.ai (Validate, Extractly+) | Ninth acquisition since the Hg buyout; no stated link to IDEA |
| Jan 2025 | David Marquis becomes CEO, replacing David Osborne; a near-total C-suite turnover follows | A new leadership team is setting the roadmap |
| 6 Jan 2026 (awarded) | UK National Highways renews its IDEA license, £4,998 excluding VAT, 1 Feb 2026 to 31 Jan 2027 | The only concrete public price found for IDEA |
| 20 May 2026 | Caseware launches Verity, an AI agent layer for assurance engagements | Framed around Working Papers, not IDEA |
| 9 Sep 2026 | “Caseware Verity for Excel” announced | Continues the pattern: assurance AI, not analytics |
Two rows deserve a second look. Caseware’s AI narrative has moved steadily toward Working Papers and assurance engagements, not toward IDEA; every dated AI release found frames itself around cloud-enabled solutions or financial-reporting engagements, and none names IDEA. The one dated 2026 event unambiguously about IDEA is a government procurement renewal in the UK, not a vendor release. Named customers follow the same thin pattern: the brochure describes IDEA’s users only generically, and Caseware’s success-stories feed names customers only for other products — Cloud, Working Papers, ReviewComp, Sherlock, Validate and the Dynamic Audit Solution. UK National Highways is the only concretely sourced IDEA user this research could confirm.
What you get: modules and how audit fits
Caseware frames IDEA around a five-step workflow: Import, Profile, Test, Automate, Report. Current branding is “IDEA 13.” Some reporting associates an AiDA assistant, Python 3.12.4 support and XLSX export with the underlying 13.0 release and dashboards with a 13.1 update dated to November 2025, but Caseware’s own pages describe all of it simply as “IDEA 13,” with no dated, version-by-version changelog found, so treat the exact split as reported, not confirmed. There are no edition tiers anywhere in vendor material, so one licensed seat gets the whole function library below.
| Layer | What it includes | Examples |
|---|---|---|
| Import and profile | Read-only imports from Excel, CSV and PDF files, 50-plus named accounting packages, Working Papers and Python data sources; SAP extraction via the optional SmartExporter add-on | QuickBooks, Sage, Xero; field-level statistics surfaced before testing begins |
| Test | 100-plus built-in functions; SmartAnalyzer’s 90-plus tests; a 50-test Financial App; a 14-utility Utilities Pack; IDEA Lab’s Python plugins | Benford’s Law, gap detection, fuzzy duplicate matching, joins, risk-based sampling |
| Automate | Scheduled, unattended execution through IDEAScript or Python, with success or failure alerts | Overnight runs producing a history for review and sign-off |
| Report | Interactive dashboards; a PDF Report Reader; export to Power BI, Tableau and Excel via ODBC, or sharing through Caseware Cloud | Discover, Visualize, Publish and Share modules |
| Licensing | Online or offline user-based licenses, plus on-premise network licensing | No edition tiers found; AiDA sold as a separate add-on |
The practical read is that IDEA is a single, undifferentiated product: what changes between a small team and a large one is how many seats they buy, not which tier they are on. The gap most buyers notice quickly is that nothing in the table produces a workpaper. IDEA’s test output, an exception list, a Benford’s Law chart, a duplicate-payment match, has to be carried into Working Papers, an Excel template, or the site’s own workpaper examples for a reviewer to sign off; the analytics and the documentation of it are two different jobs, and IDEA only does the first.
Walkthrough by audit stage
Planning and risk assessment
IDEA has no planning module. The closest capability is ML-assisted, risk-based sampling, which the company’s internal-audit positioning page says lets a team focus effort on higher-risk populations “without requiring specialist expertise” — useful once a population is already loaded, not for building an audit universe or an annual plan. Teams that need that layer keep it in a platform such as Optro or TeamMate, and bring only the results into IDEA once specific data sets need testing.
Import and profiling
Source files are read-only: IDEA works from an internal copy while preserving the original, the feature examiners and external auditors care about most, since the population under test cannot have been altered after the fact. Supported inputs are Excel, CSV and PDF files, more than 50 named accounting packages (QuickBooks, Sage and Xero among them), Caseware Working Papers, Python data sources, and, as an optional add-on, SAP extraction through SmartExporter. Profiling surfaces field-level statistics — counts, gaps, outliers — before a single test runs, matching what a reviewer would expect to see documented.
Testing: the function library
This is the product. More than 100 built-in functions cover Benford’s Law, gap detection, predictive analysis, fuzzy duplicate matching and joins; SmartAnalyzer adds more than 90 industry-standard tests; a Financial App bundles 50-plus analytical tests; and a 14-utility Utilities Pack rounds out data preparation. The site’s own accounts payable, payroll and journal entry analytics catalogs describe the tests a team would script inside a tool like this one; IDEA’s library covers most out of the box, and IDEA Lab’s Python plugins cover what it does not.
Automate: scheduled and scripted runs
IDEA supports scheduled, unattended script execution — an overnight run against last night’s general ledger extract, say — with success or failure alerts, through IDEAScript or, via IDEA Lab, Python. Caseware’s own language for the output is a “clear, immutable history of every step” and a “clear run history for review and sign-off”; a companion claim, reported rather than independently confirmed here, is that the log itself is written in IDEAScript. Either way, the intent is a test that runs the same way every time and leaves a record a reviewer can follow without redoing the work.
Output: reporting and the audit trail
Results surface as interactive dashboards, through a PDF Report Reader, or by publishing to Power BI, Tableau or Excel via ODBC, or by sharing through Caseware Cloud. What IDEA does not produce is a signed-off workpaper or a tracked issue: exceptions and anomalies are the deliverable, and turning them into a finding with an owner, a root cause and a follow-up date is a job for Working Papers, an audit-management platform, or a spreadsheet built for that purpose.
SOX and controls
IDEA has no named SOX or ICFR module, certification workflow or controls library comparable to the dedicated SOX products in this guide. The one sourced example of IDEA in a controls context is the UK National Highways renewal cited throughout this review: the procurement notice describes the use case as “audit analysis tasks upon data sets (e.g. invoice gap detection and identification of control breakdowns),” general internal-audit analytics, not a labeled SOX 404 engagement. Teams running a SOX program with IDEA in the mix should expect it to sit downstream of the control library and testing calendar, feeding exception testing into whatever system holds the RCM, the deficiency evaluation and the 302 and 404 certifications; the site’s guides to SOX 404 and evaluating control deficiencies cover that layer.
Analytics, integrations and automation
Beyond the built-in library, Caseware’s integrations page names more than 30 partners — Sage’s variants, MYOB, Xero, the QuickBooks and Intuit family, Microsoft Dynamics, the Visma suite, DATEV and others — but does not say which apply to IDEA versus Working Papers or Cloud, and states only generically that “robust APIs” exist. No developer portal, API reference or code sample specific to IDEA turned up anywhere, a real gap next to platforms here that publish their own REST and SCIM API documentation.
The integrations IDEA’s own product page confirms are output-side: Power BI, Tableau and Excel through ODBC; SmartSync to Working Papers; Caseware Cloud for storage; SAP through the optional SmartExporter add-on; and Python, both as a data source and, through IDEA Lab, as a full scripting layer. That Python bridge is what keeps IDEA relevant against newer tools: a team that outgrows the built-in library can write Python inside the same environment rather than exporting to a notebook and losing IDEA’s read-only import and audit-trail guarantees. Teams that want the full analytics stack compared side by side should read the site’s audit analytics software compared guide.
AI: what is real
Caseware’s AI story has moved in two waves, and neither one was built around IDEA. AiDA, the company’s “AI-Powered Digital Assistant,” launched company-wide on 28 May 2024 (US first) and was pitched around profession-specific question answering, PDF summarization and workpaper assistance, a Cloud and Working Papers description. Inside IDEA specifically, AiDA is scaled down: the product page calls it “an in-app AI assistant for in-app guidance” and states plainly that it is “available as an add-on to the product,” not bundled by default, a materially smaller claim than the company-wide narrative, and the one that actually applies to a seat of IDEA.
The second wave is Caseware Verity, launched 20 May 2026 as an AI orchestration layer working “directly within assurance and financial reporting engagements” across the company’s Prepare, Plan, Evaluate and Report suites, with a live Disclosure Checklist Agent, a Document Intelligence Agent in closed beta and a Risk Suggestion Agent in alpha; a follow-on release on 9 September 2026 covers “Caseware Verity for Excel.” Every Verity source read for this review frames the product around assurance and financial-reporting engagements, and none mentions IDEA or analytics by name. Readers should not assume Verity’s agents run inside IDEA until Caseware states otherwise.
| Feature | Announced | What the vendor says it does | What to check |
|---|---|---|---|
| AiDA inside IDEA | General AiDA launched 28 May 2024; sold as an add-on to IDEA | “An in-app AI assistant for in-app guidance” | Whether the add-on fee and data flow are documented before you buy it |
| Caseware Verity | 20 May 2026 | AI orchestration for assurance and financial-reporting engagements; a live Disclosure Checklist Agent, a Document Intelligence Agent in closed beta, a Risk Suggestion Agent in alpha | Every source names Working Papers, not IDEA; ask Caseware directly whether any agent touches IDEA data |
| Verity for Excel | 9 Sep 2026 | Connects client requests to the workpaper | Same caveat: assurance engagements, not analytics |
| General AI governance language | — | AI is embedded “while maintaining governance, transparency and human oversight” | No model provider or data-use statement is published |
No Caseware AI page names an underlying model provider or a training-data policy; the platform AI page states only that AI is embedded “while maintaining governance, transparency and human oversight.” No IDEA-specific statement about desktop data being sent off-device for AiDA processing was found. Gartner’s April 2026 market guide for audit management software warns buyers to be “particularly wary of agent-washing,” and that fits here: the flashiest AI names in Caseware’s 2026 marketing, Verity and its agents, are not shown to touch the product this review is about. The site’s guide to evaluating AI in audit software has the questions to ask before paying extra for an AI add-on, in IDEA or anywhere else.
The scorecard
The scorecard uses the 12 areas described on the method page. For an analytics tool such as IDEA, several areas that matter for a full audit-management platform are simply not what the product is for, marked not applicable below, and every level reflects documentation, procurement records and reviews, not hands-on use.
| Area | Level | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Risk assessment and planning | n/a: not what the tool is for | The closest capability is risk-based sampling applied after a population already exists, not audit-universe or plan building |
| Engagement workflow | n/a: not what the tool is for | IDEA has no case, engagement or sign-off object of its own; output feeds Working Papers for that layer |
| Workpapers and evidence | Limited | Read-only imports preserve the original file and an “immutable history of every step,” but there is no native workpaper module; results must be linked into another system for retention |
| Issues and follow-up | n/a: not what the tool is for | No tracked issue object or corrective-action workflow; exceptions are analytic output consumed downstream |
| Reporting | Adequate | Interactive dashboards, a PDF Report Reader and export to Power BI, Tableau and Excel or Caseware Cloud, but no engagement or audit-committee report generator |
| SOX and controls testing | Limited | No named SOX or ICFR module; the only sourced example, UK National Highways, uses IDEA for general invoice-gap and control-breakdown testing, not a labeled SOX engagement |
| Analytics and automation | Strong | 100-plus built-in functions, SmartAnalyzer’s 90-plus tests, a 50-test Financial App and IDEA Lab’s Python plugins; scheduled, unattended runs with failure alerts |
| AI features | Limited | AiDA inside IDEA is a paid add-on described only as “in-app guidance”; Verity is documented solely for assurance and financial-reporting engagements, not for IDEA |
| Quality program support | n/a: not what the tool is for | No QAIP metrics or methodology-enforcement features described |
| Auditee experience | n/a: not what the tool is for | No request portal or auditee-facing notifications |
| Administration, integrations and security | Limited | ISO/IEC 27001, SOC 2 and SOC 3 are scoped to Caseware Cloud, not the IDEA desktop application; no FedRAMP, GovRAMP, HIPAA or PCI DSS found; 30-plus partners described generically, no IDEA-specific API reference |
| Cost and contract | Limited | No public price list or edition tiers; licensing is user-based or on-premise network; the only public figure is a single UK renewal with no seat count disclosed |
| Vendor viability | Adequate | Hg has held majority ownership since late 2020; the C-suite turned over almost entirely in 2025 under new CEO David Marquis; none of the nine acquisitions since 2020, nor the newest AI initiative, is tied to IDEA by name |
Fit by situation
The eight situations are the same on every review in this guide, so ratings can be compared across products. IDEA rates Strong fit in six of the seven that apply to an analytics tool, is only Workable for a SOX-heavy public company that needs a certified controls system rather than a testing engine, and the eighth situation, consolidating GRC across the three lines, does not apply to a standalone analytics tool at all.
| Situation | Rating | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| First system for a small team (1 to 5 auditors) | Strong fit | A single seat is inexpensive next to a platform subscription, and the function library covers most testing a small team needs without scripting |
| Mid-size function (6 to 25 auditors) | Strong fit | Reusable scripts and scheduled runs scale across a team without a per-module platform bill |
| Large or global function (25+ auditors) | Strong fit | Full-population testing, scripting and Python plugins suit a dedicated analytics function at scale |
| SOX-heavy public company | Workable | No named SOX or ICFR module; useful for control-breakdown testing feeding a SOX program run elsewhere, not as the system of record |
| Bank or credit union | Strong fit | Full-population analytics on transaction data is standard practice in bank audit shops; read-only imports suit examiner scrutiny |
| Public sector, higher education or nonprofit | Strong fit | UK National Highways’ own renewal is the sourced example of public-sector use |
| Analytics-heavy team | Strong fit | The tool’s core purpose: full-population testing, scripting and scheduled, unattended runs |
| Consolidating GRC across the three lines | n/a | A standalone analytics tool with no workflow or case-management layer for risk, compliance and audit to share |
Pricing and contract
Caseware publishes no price list and no edition tiers for IDEA anywhere we could find, and unlike Optro, Workiva, LogicGate, Onspring and several other products in this guide, Caseware and IDEA have no Vendr marketplace listing; the natural Vendr URL for Caseware returns a 404. That leaves a single concrete public figure to work from, plus the licensing model Caseware describes in its own material.
| Source and date | Figure | What it covered | How to read it |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK Find a Tender Service, Notice 001028-2026, awarded 6 Jan 2026 | £4,998.00 excluding VAT (£5,997.60 including VAT) | One-year IDEA license renewal via CaseWare UK Limited for National Highways, 1 Feb 2026 to 31 Jan 2027, for invoice gap detection and control-breakdown work | The only concrete public price found; seat count is not stated, so this is not a reliable per-seat figure |
| Caseware IDEA brochure and product page | Not published | Licensing model only: online or offline user-based, plus on-premise network licensing | No list price or edition tiers anywhere in vendor material |
| Vendr marketplace | No listing found | — | Vendr covers Optro, Workiva, LogicGate, Onspring and Hyperproof, but its Caseware and IDEA marketplace URL returns a 404 |
| Capterra and other third-party estimators | No working listing found | — | Repeated attempts to load a Capterra listing for IDEA returned 404s; no third-party per-seat estimate of the kind available for Arbutus or DataSnipper could be located |
The licensing model, online or offline user-based plus on-premise network licensing, is built for a desktop tool sold to individual auditors or small analytics teams, not a per-module SaaS subscription. Read against that model, the UK National Highways renewal, a one-year term with no seat count disclosed, is consistent with a small-seat, single-organization deal rather than an enterprise-wide license; it should not be treated as a per-seat rate, and it is not converted into one anywhere in this review.
What we could not find matters as much as what we found. No third-party price estimator, of the kind cited elsewhere for Arbutus via ITQlick or DataSnipper via Sacra, covers IDEA, and Caseware’s own sales channel, a phone line and salesidea@caseware.com, is the only route to a quote. Ask for the online-versus-offline distinction in writing, ask whether AiDA’s add-on fee is flat or per-seat, and ask whether a multi-year term buys a price hold, since nothing public confirms Caseware’s escalator practice the way Vendr’s data does for some rivals here. The site’s internal audit software pricing guide has the negotiation script that applies across vendors, and the vendor-neutral RFP method and demo script both suit a tool quoted only after a live conversation, which is IDEA’s situation today.
What users say
IDEA’s review coverage is thin next to the platforms in this guide, and what exists spans two scopes that should not be confused. TrustRadius carries an IDEA-specific product page: 5.1 out of 10 from 10 reviews. G2 has no findable IDEA-specific listing; its natural IDEA URL resolves into the broader Financial Audit Software category, where “Caseware,” the whole company, covering Cloud, Working Papers and IDEA together, rates 4.0 out of 5.0 from a review count that read 68 on one access and 70 on a second, split roughly 28% enterprise, 38% mid-market and 34% small business. Neither figure should be quoted as “IDEA’s G2 rating”: it is broader and does not isolate IDEA.
Gartner Peer Insights has no findable Caseware or IDEA vendor page inside the Audit Management Solutions market this guide uses for platforms such as Optro and TeamMate, consistent with IDEA being analytics software rather than an audit-management system; the site’s guide to reading audit software analyst reports explains what each report actually measures.
| Theme | Praise or complaint | Where seen |
|---|---|---|
| Easy to learn for standard, everyday use | Praise | TrustRadius (IDEA-specific); G2’s Caseware pages, ease of use and templates |
| Handles large data volumes well | Praise | TrustRadius; G2, strong large-dataset analytics |
| Consolidates functions that would otherwise need multiple tools | Praise | TrustRadius |
| Steep learning curve for advanced features | Complaint | TrustRadius and G2, independently and consistently |
| Real training investment required | Complaint | TrustRadius |
| Dated or clunky interface in places; slow sync on large files | Complaint | G2 (whole-suite reviews) |
One signal is consistent across both independent platforms, thin as each one is on its own: IDEA is easy to pick up for everyday, standard use, and genuinely difficult to master at the advanced end, where the function library, SmartAnalyzer and IDEA Lab’s Python layer live. That pattern should set expectations for training budget, not just for the license fee.
Implementation and migration
Caseware bundles a user portal called Passport, with tutorials, videos, sample apps and scripts, and names instructor-led training and year-round technical support in its brochure, without publishing hours, pricing or a service-level agreement. Support channels are a phone line (1-800-265-4332) and salesidea@caseware.com; a marketing subdomain, idea.caseware.com, exists but redirects to generic messaging rather than IDEA-specific release notes.
No implementation timeline, required administrator role or data-migration tool was found for IDEA, a real contrast with Arbutus Analyzer, which advertises one-click conversion of ACL projects. No equivalent import-from-ACL or import-from-a-legacy-IDEA claim exists for IDEA in any source read here. Teams switching into IDEA from ACL or Arbutus should plan to rebuild scripts rather than convert them, and teams already on IDEA should treat that as a switching cost working against them too if they ever leave. The site’s implementing audit management software guide is written for a workflow platform, but its migration and admin-effort sections are still the right checklist to run before signing.
How it compares
Arbutus Analyzer is IDEA’s closest desktop rival, and the one built to take its customers, not IDEA’s. Version 9 (May 2025) added machine-learning features, and Arbutus’s own marketing has long emphasized one-click conversion of ACL projects, a migration path IDEA does not advertise for either ACL or Arbutus files. Arbutus is the smaller company by a wide margin; treat its published SmartApps counts as claims to verify against your own test file, not settled facts. See the Arbutus Analyzer review and the IDEA vs Arbutus vs ACL comparison.
ACL Analytics, now part of the Diligent One Platform, is the product both IDEA and Arbutus get compared against by name; this site’s own search-demand research shows “IDEA” searched alongside “ACL, Excel, Power BI.” Version 19 shipped 4 December 2025, and ACL AI Studio, generally available that September, is native to the analytics product itself, a real difference from Caseware, where the newest AI work, Verity, is scoped to a different product line entirely. ACL has no standalone review-site rating; it is bundled under Diligent One’s figures. See the ACL Analytics review.
The honest alternative to any of the three is a do-it-yourself stack: Python with pandas, Power Query or Power BI, built and maintained by whoever on the team can code. It has no license fee and no vendor lock-in, and it demands the most skill and maintenance; IDEA’s own Python bridge through IDEA Lab is Caseware’s answer to that trade-off, letting a scripting team keep IDEA’s read-only import and audit-trail guarantees rather than losing them to a notebook entirely. The table below lines up the three named tools plus the do-it-yourself option, and the site’s best internal audit software roundup situates all of them within the wider market.
| Tool | What it is | Migration from ACL | Price evidence | User rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caseware IDEA | Desktop, read-only imports, 100-plus functions, Python via IDEA Lab | No stated path found | Single UK renewal, £4,998 excluding VAT a year, seats not stated | TrustRadius 5.1/10 (10); G2 4.0/5 is suite-wide |
| Arbutus Analyzer | Desktop, built by a former ACL chief architect; version 9 added ML in May 2025 | Converts ACL projects, per its own marketing | No Vendr listing found | — |
| ACL Analytics (Diligent) | Desktop and cloud-connected; version 19 (Dec 2025); AI Studio native to the product | Its own successor lineage; bundled into Diligent One | Audit pricing not public | No standalone listing |
| Python (do-it-yourself) | Free scripting via pandas or similar; full control, no license fee | n/a | Cost is analyst time, not a license | n/a: not a commercial product |
Questions about Caseware IDEA
Is Caseware IDEA a cloud product?
No. IDEA is Windows desktop software. “Caseware Internal Audit,” the phrase that shows up in search and in some vendor marketing, is a positioning bundle that combines desktop IDEA with the separate Working Papers product; no evidence of a browser-based or cloud-hosted version of IDEA’s analytics engine itself was found in this research.
How much does Caseware IDEA cost?
There is no published price list. The only concrete public figure is a one-year license renewal awarded to UK National Highways on 6 January 2026: £4,998.00 excluding VAT for 1 February 2026 to 31 January 2027, with the seat count not stated. Licensing is sold as online or offline user-based licenses or on-premise network licenses; get a written quote from Caseware’s sales line or salesidea@caseware.com rather than budgeting from a single overseas renewal.
Is Caseware IDEA the same as ACL or Arbutus?
No, though all three are frequently searched and compared together. IDEA is Caseware’s own product; ACL Analytics is now part of Diligent One; Arbutus Analyzer was built separately, by a former ACL chief architect, and markets one-click conversion of ACL projects, a path IDEA does not advertise. The IDEA vs Arbutus vs ACL comparison has the detail.
Is Caseware IDEA right for a small team or a solo auditor?
Yes, on the fit ratings used across this guide, a single IDEA seat is one of the more affordable ways to get real full-population testing without a platform subscription. The trade-off is the one every reviewer flags: everyday use is easy to pick up, but the advanced function library, SmartAnalyzer and the Python layer in IDEA Lab take real training time, so budget for that rather than assuming the license fee is the whole cost.
Does AiDA inside IDEA use our data to train Caseware’s models?
Caseware has not published an IDEA-specific answer. Its general AI platform page says only that AI is embedded “while maintaining governance, transparency and human oversight,” without naming an underlying model provider or a training-data policy, and no page read for this review states whether IDEA’s desktop data is sent off-device when AiDA’s in-app guidance is used. Ask for that in writing before enabling the add-on, and see the site’s audit software due diligence guide for the fuller question list.
Do we need to know Python to use IDEA?
No. The 100-plus built-in functions, SmartAnalyzer’s tests and the Financial App cover most standard audit analytics without any code. Python, through IDEA Lab, is there for the tests the built-in library does not cover, and it is optional rather than a requirement to get value from a seat.
internalauditguide.com has no commercial relationship with Caseware or any other vendor named on this page. We take no vendor money, run no affiliate links and accept no sponsored placements, and no vendor saw this page before publication. Product and company names are the trademarks of their owners. Corrections: desk@internalauditguide.com.
Sources and verification
- Caseware, IDEA product page — feature list, five-step workflow, AiDA-as-add-on language, integrations (accessed 27 September 2026).
- UK Find a Tender Service, Notice 001028-2026 — the National Highways renewal: value, VAT, term, award date and use case (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Wikipedia, CaseWare International — founding year and the 2000 IDEA rights acquisition (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, homepage — scale claims and the Verity agent list (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, Verity launch release — 20 May 2026 date, agent names and scope (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, AiDA launch release — 28 May 2024 date and rollout (accessed 27 September 2026).
- BetaKit, Caseware C-suite turnover report — Hg majority-ownership date, CEO succession (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, Extractly.ai acquisition release — the “ninth acquisition since Hg” language (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, IDEA Brochure (PDF) — function counts, SmartAnalyzer, IDEA Lab, licensing model, Passport (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, About page — leadership list and the chief revenue officer discrepancy (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, Integrations and APIs page — 30-plus partners, generic API language (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, Security Certifications page — ISO/IEC 27001, SOC 2 and SOC 3, scoped to Caseware Cloud (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, Internal Audit solution pages — confirms the IDEA-plus-Working-Papers bundle (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, Success Stories resource filter — recent customers, none IDEA-specific (accessed 27 September 2026).
- TrustRadius, “CaseWare IDEA” reviews — the 5.1/10 rating from 10 reviews and its themes (accessed 27 September 2026).
- G2, Financial Audit Software category page — the 4.0/5.0 rating and category-neighbor list (accessed 27 September 2026).
- G2, Caseware reviews (direct product page) — corroborating rating and segment mix, whole-suite in scope (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Gartner Peer Insights, Audit Management Solutions market — confirms no Caseware or IDEA listing there (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, AI platform page — governance language; no model provider named (accessed 27 September 2026).
- Caseware, News listing — the 9 September 2026 “Verity for Excel” item (accessed 27 September 2026).
Related guides
- Internal audit software: the independent buyer’s guide — every review, comparison and buying guide in one place.
- How we review audit software — the evidence levels, the scorecard and the fit-by-situation method.
- The audit software shortlist finder — eight questions, a shortlist with the reasons from each review.
- The requirements matrix — 156 weighted requirements and vendor scoring in a free Excel workbook.
- IDEA vs Arbutus vs ACL — choosing an audit analytics tool.
- Arbutus Analyzer review — the ACL-compatible analytics tool, explained.
- ACL Analytics review — version 19, AI Studio, Robots and what replaced AX.
- Audit analytics software compared — IDEA, Arbutus, ACL, Alteryx, Power BI and Python side by side.
- Types of internal audit software — audit management, GRC, SOX, compliance and analytics, defined.
- Best internal audit software — 25 platforms and tools compared by use case.
- Internal audit software pricing — real numbers, pricing models and how to negotiate.
- Reading audit software analyst reports — what Gartner, Forrester and G2 actually measure.
- The audit software demo script — 25 scenarios that make vendors show, not tell.
- Selecting an audit management system — the vendor-neutral RFP method.
- Audit software due diligence — security, data residency, AI data use and vendor stability.
- Evaluating AI in audit software — what is real and what is agent-washing.
- Caseware IDEA vs Excel, Power Query and Power BI — the two compared factor by factor, with cost and fit by situation.
Leave a Reply