,

TeamMate vs Ideagen Internal Audit (Pentana): The UK and Public-Sector Shortlist

TeamMate and Ideagen Internal Audit are the pairing a UK housing association, local authority, university or credit union audit team is most likely to shortlist together, because both are audit-first platforms built around a defined engagement program rather than a SOX-heavy public company’s ICFR calendar or a three-lines GRC consolidation. TeamMate is the classic Wolters Kluwer has sold for more than 30 years, first as the desktop TeamMate AM and now as the web-based TeamMate+ Audit, to government audit offices, banks and credit unions, universities and traditional audit shops worldwide. Ideagen Internal Audit is the Nottingham, UK-built platform still widely called by its old name, Pentana Audit, with a customer base concentrated in UK housing associations, local government, credit unions and higher education rather than the US corporate market its larger rivals chase. Both vendors are, right now, also selling two technical generations of their own product side by side, with no published date for retiring the older one, which is the first thing either shortlist should settle before comparing a single price.

This comparison sets the two products side by side on ownership and modules, works through seven points where they genuinely differ, including which one is actually listed on the UK Government’s own procurement marketplace, lines up a side-by-side scorecard and fit-by-situation table, builds a five-year cost illustration from the only public figures either vendor has produced, covers migrating between them and off each vendor’s own legacy edition, and closes with a recommendation by situation. It draws on the site’s TeamMate review and Ideagen Internal Audit review, and follows the evidence levels and scorecard set out in how we review audit software, part of the independent buyer’s guide to internal audit software.

Verdict. TeamMate is the broader, better-reviewed and more capable platform on almost every row of this comparison’s scorecard and fit table, and it is the safer default for a bank, credit union, large or global function, or any team that might need SOX depth or scripted analytics within the contract’s life. Ideagen Internal Audit earns its place on this shortlist for a narrower case: a mid-size, six-to-25-auditor function in UK housing, local government, higher education or a credit union that wants a workable planning-to-reporting system, does not need SOX or analytics depth, and would rather buy off a published UK Government rate card than negotiate a bespoke quote.

Best for. TeamMate: public-sector bodies, banks and credit unions, and functions of any size that want audit depth without a GRC suite’s overhead, anywhere in the world. Ideagen Internal Audit: mid-size UK housing associations, local authorities, universities and credit unions that want a defined, UK-procurable system and do not need SOX or analytics depth.

Not for. TeamMate: a UK buyer who wants to self-serve a published rate card before ever calling sales, since no G-Cloud listing was found for it. Ideagen Internal Audit: a SOX-heavy public company, an analytics-heavy function, a function consolidating GRC across the three lines, or a first system for one to five auditors, where its own fit rating is Poor or Workable.

Evidence. Research-based: vendor documentation and release notes, public procurement records, third-party pricing data, verified user reviews on Gartner Peer Insights and G2, and analyst coverage. We have not used either product hands-on for this comparison.

Price evidence. TeamMate: the City of Norman, Oklahoma quote of 28 February 2025 puts TeamMate+ Audit Essentials at $6,150.88 a year for two users; the New York State Comptroller pays $988,160 over five years for support and maintenance. Ideagen: the UK Government’s G-Cloud 14 marketplace, dated 14 October 2025, prices the new cloud edition at £6,375 a year per instance and the legacy Pentana Audit MK edition at £13,870, both before named-user licensing and services.

Last verified. 27 September 2026.

In this guide

The two products in one table

Start with what each name covers today, because a reference customer’s name means little until you know which generation and which edition they are actually running. The table sets TeamMate and Ideagen Internal Audit side by side on ownership, category, deployment, the modules an audit function actually buys, pricing model, the best public price evidence and independent ratings; the figures match what each product’s own review already carries.

AttributeTeamMate (Wolters Kluwer)Ideagen Internal Audit (formerly Pentana Audit)
OwnerWolters Kluwer, a public company listed on Euronext Amsterdam (WKL)Hg, a private equity firm, since 24 June 2022
CategoryAudit-first platform, with SOX and GRC sold as separate products on one baseAudit-first platform, with risk management sold as a companion product
Heritage and generationsSold for more than 30 years; legacy TeamMate AM alongside the current TeamMate+ Audit, with no published TeamMate+ sunset for AM beyond an expected 2023 end of lifeSold for years as Pentana Audit; the legacy Pentana Audit MK edition and the newer cloud edition, “Ideagen Internal Audit,” both still separately priced as of 14 October 2025
DeploymentTeamCloud (Microsoft Azure), on-premise, or offline per the vendor’s documentationLegacy edition: Azure-hosted, local Windows client, offline-capable. New edition: public cloud only
Core audit modulesTeamMate Audit, TeamMate Controls and TeamMate Risk & Compliance (formerly StandardFusion), three separately priced products on one platformIdeagen Internal Audit plus Ideagen Risk Management (formerly Pentana Risk); no separate SOX, controls or compliance product
AnalyticsTeamMate Analytics, an Excel add-in with 150-plus tools and more than 180 documented testsNo dedicated analytics module; only Word and Excel integrations were found documented by third parties
2026 AITeamMate+ AI Editor, a writing assistant announced 2 June 2025, plus GRC AI inside Risk & ComplianceMazlan, a company-wide agentic AI layer launched 2 December 2025, not an audit-specific tool
Pricing modelPer named user by edition; hosting and analytics can be bundled into the pricePlatform or instance fee plus steeply degressive per-named-user tiers, day-rate services and a percentage support uplift
Best price evidenceCity of Norman: $6,150.88 a year for two Essentials users (28 February 2025); New York Comptroller: $988,160 over five yearsG-Cloud 14, 14 October 2025: £6,375 a year per instance, new edition; £13,870, legacy edition
Ratings (GPI / G2)4.2 from 120 reviews / 4.3 from 5973.9 from 7 reviews / 4.2 from 93

Two things fall out of that table before the detail does. First, the review-base gap is real: TeamMate’s 120 Gartner Peer Insights reviews against Ideagen’s 7 is not a small-sample quirk, it is the difference between a market-standard rating and one this site’s own review flags as too thin to lean on alone. Second, the price evidence sits in two different currencies from two different kinds of record: TeamMate’s figures are real invoices to named US public-sector buyers, while Ideagen’s are a self-service UK Government rate card that was never, in the material either review gathered, turned into a matching customer invoice. The rest of this comparison works through what that gap actually means, stage by stage.

Where they are different

The table above is the shape of the decision; the seven factors below are the substance, drawn from each product’s own scorecard and the documentation behind it.

Two technical generations, sold two different ways

Both vendors are, right now, asking a buyer to choose between an older generation and a newer one, and both leave the choice largely to the buyer to notice. TeamMate AM, the legacy desktop and server product, was expected to reach end of life around April 2023, according to the Office of the Auditor General of Canada, which used the moment to leave TeamMate altogether for Caseware rather than upgrade to TeamMate+; a UK public body was nonetheless still paying maintenance on 10 TeamMate AM licenses through March 2027, evidence that plenty of customers have not finished that move years later. Ideagen shows the identical pattern from the other side: as of the 14 October 2025 G-Cloud pricing documents, it was still actively selling and separately pricing the legacy Pentana Audit MK edition (Azure-hosted, a local Windows client, offline-capable) alongside the newer public-cloud “Ideagen Internal Audit” edition, with no public sunset date for either.

Each vendor even has its own public-sector reference account illustrating the risk of staying on the older generation too long. The UK National Audit Office paid £375,000 sole-source for a two-year continuation of Pentana Audit MK 12.0, explicitly framed as a bridge while it migrated to a different system, a full vendor exit rather than an upgrade; OAG Canada’s move from TeamMate AM to Caseware is the same kind of exit. Neither vendor volunteers this, so ask directly which generation is being quoted or renewed before treating any reference customer’s name as evidence of anything.

SOX and controls: a real product against a mapping claim

Neither product is a SOX-first buyer’s natural pick, but the gap between them is real, not just a matter of degree. TeamMate Controls is a separate, purpose-built product on the same platform: a control library, configurable testing cycles, self-assessment pushed to owners, certifications over ICFR, ICSR and ICC controls, and action-plan dashboards, mapped to SOX, CSRD, GDPR, ISO 27001 and COSO. It has a shorter SOX customer list than that of Optro (formerly AuditBoard) or Workiva, hence Adequate rather than Strong, but it is a real, dedicated product. Ideagen only maps SOX as one of several frameworks inside its general objectives, risks, controls and tests structure; no dedicated module, walkthrough-specific tooling, segregation-of-duties testing or deficiency-classification workflow was found anywhere in the material gathered, earning it a Limited rating.

Neither review could confirm whether either vendor’s IIA-standards mapping has been updated to the Global Internal Audit Standards, effective 9 January 2025, or still reflects the prior framework; the site’s Global Internal Audit Standards reference map is worth checking against a demo login regardless of which vendor you pick. UK public companies ask a parallel question under the UK Corporate Governance Code’s Provision 29, covered in the site’s UK SOX guide; neither product goes deep enough to be the natural answer there. A SOX-centric public company on either side of the Atlantic should look instead to Optro or Workiva, covered in the site’s SOX compliance software comparison.

Analytics: a bundled Excel add-in against two documented integrations

This is the widest gap in the comparison. TeamMate Analytics is a genuinely useful tool: 150-plus tools and more than 180 documented tests inside Excel, data preparation that converts sources including PDF into rows and columns, and results that attach to the engagement through the Document Linker, bundled at no extra listed cost into at least one small-team quote this guide has found. Ideagen has pitched a “two-way API that’s native to the product” since 2023, but the only third-party-documented integrations found are Microsoft Word and Excel, and no dedicated analytics module was found inside Internal Audit itself; the risk heat maps the vendor does show live in the companion Risk Management module, not in the audit product a third-line team buys on its own.

The practical result is that a UK housing association or credit union that wants even Excel-scale scripted testing gets a working tool bundled with TeamMate at the smallest scale this guide has priced, and gets a native-integration claim with two documented office-application connections from Ideagen. A function that wants full-population, scripted testing beyond either one should read the site’s audit analytics software guide.

AI: a disclosed writing assistant against an undisclosed agentic layer

TeamMate’s AI is one narrow, checkable feature. The AI Editor, announced 2 June 2025, drafts, adjusts tone, summarizes and translates inside a workpaper an auditor accepts or rejects, with published safeguards: data isolation, no data retention, end-to-end encryption, a PII blocker, and a statement that submitted content is not used to train the underlying models and is discarded once suggestions are generated. Ideagen’s Mazlan, launched 2 December 2025, is more ambitious and less disclosed: an agentic, autonomous layer described as embedded “across EHS, quality, audit and compliance workflows,” not an audit-specific tool. Its governance page covers permissions, audit trails, data residency and human approval for critical decisions, but no statement on whether customer data trains the model, no retention period and no named model or vendor was found anywhere.

Gartner’s Market Guide for Audit Management Software, published 13 April 2026 and reproduced on Wolters Kluwer’s own site, told buyers to be particularly wary of agent-washing from any vendor. TeamMate’s single, narrow assistant is easy to test in an afternoon and its data-use terms are already in writing; Mazlan is the more ambitious feature by scope but the one where a buyer has to ask, rather than read, what happens to submitted audit evidence. Ask for that answer in writing before enabling either feature against live workpapers.

What users say, head to head

Read Ideagen’s averages next to TeamMate’s with the sample sizes in view, not just the stars. The table carries both products’ review counts from the same market listings used on each product’s own review.

MetricTeamMateIdeagen Internal Audit
Gartner Peer Insights4.2 from 120 reviews3.9 from 7 reviews (14% five-star, 71% four-star, 14% three-star, no one- or two-star)
G24.3 from 597 reviews4.2 from 93 reviews
CapterraNot separately rated in the material gathered4.2 from 10 reviews
TrustRadiusNot separately rated in the material gathered7.3 from a single review, too thin to be a reliable signal on its own
Most-cited praiseEase of use (76 G2 mentions); customizability (27), though limited customization is also a top complaintUser-friendly interface and one-stop planning-to-reporting scope; responsive support
Most-cited complaintInadequate reporting (19 G2 mentions); learning curve and too many clicks (11 and 14)Custom report building described as slow and coding-adjacent; license costs rising on the move to the cloud edition

The pattern that matters most is the one both products share: reporting and export friction is the top complaint on every site with a real sample, TeamMate’s included. Neither vendor has solved the last mile of getting a committee-ready report out of the system without manual rework, so make either vendor build your actual report in a demo rather than trusting the pitch. Ideagen’s added complaint, rising license costs tied specifically to the move from the legacy edition to the newer cloud edition, is the review evidence matching the generational split described above.

UK public-sector procurement: G-Cloud against Contracts Finder

This is the factor this comparison exists to settle, and the evidence points opposite ways depending on what a UK buyer wants. Ideagen is listed on the UK Government’s own G-Cloud 14 marketplace, supplier Ideagen Technology Limited, with detailed, dated rate cards for both audit editions and Risk Management: named-user tiers, day rates for services, support fees as a percentage of license, standard non-profit and education discounts, and a two-year minimum term, all published before a housing association, local authority or university ever picks up the phone. That is unusually granular public pricing for this category.

No G-Cloud listing was found for TeamMate in the material gathered for its review. Its UK public-sector price evidence instead comes from two Contracts Finder single-tender-action notices, both maintenance renewals on licenses a buyer already owns, not a fresh-purchase rate card: £30,322 plus VAT for 10 legacy TeamMate AM licenses, reduced from 25, running 18 March 2024 to 17 March 2027, and a separate £33,308 Home Office maintenance renewal for the year to March 2025. A UK function still measures either vendor against expectations such as the UK Internal Audit Code of Practice, which neither vendor’s marketing addresses directly, so that part of the comparison has to happen in a demo either way.

Both vendors also chase US federal business, through a different route than either’s UK story. TeamMate cites a GSA Schedule contract (47QSWA18D008F, to 21 August 2028) and a FedRAMP Marketplace authorization at the Moderate impact level, agency path, since 13 May 2022, for TeamMate Audit and Controls specifically. Ideagen’s September 2026 Carahsoft partnership claims an “Ideagen Government Cloud” meeting FedRAMP Moderate through SEWP V, NASPO ValuePoint and OMNIA Partners contract vehicles, a partner and contract-vehicle claim rather than a marketplace-verified authorization for Internal Audit itself. Neither federal story answers the UK question a housing association or local authority is actually asking.

Cost and contract mechanics

Beyond the headline figures, the two vendors structure a contract differently in ways that change what actually lands on an invoice. The table sets out what typically shows up as its own line on either vendor’s order form.

Cost driverTeamMateIdeagen Internal Audit
ImplementationFixed-price Foundation package; $15,630 after a $6,000 discount for Norman’s two users5 implementation days and 4 training days bundled as standard; extra time billed at £1,330 a day
Additional productsControls and Risk & Compliance are each their own priced line beyond AuditRisk Management is priced separately, standalone or in a combined Enterprise bundle at £7,200 a year plus per-user bands
Named-user licensingPer named user by edition; no public per-seat discount schedule foundPublished, steeply degressive tiers on the legacy edition: £1,387 down to £549 a year per user
Support and renewalNot publicly stated; every renewal in the record was sole-source or single-tenderTwo tiers priced as a percentage of license fees: Standard 15%, Premier 25%
Minimum termNot stated in the material gathered2 years, per the G-Cloud rate card
DiscountsVendr’s general Wolters Kluwer guidance only: 20% to 50% of first-year subscription for implementation, 10% to 20% for multi-year deals; G2 buyer-reported average discount 8%10% non-profit, 15% education, built into the published rate card; G2 buyer-reported average discount about 8%

The two averages converge in one interesting place: both vendors’ own reviewers report roughly the same negotiated discount, about 8%, even though only Ideagen publishes the schedule that discount would apply to. That is the clearest single illustration of the trade-off in this whole comparison: Ideagen is more transparent about its list price and terms; TeamMate is more transparent about what an actual customer paid.

Head to head: the scorecard

Both scorecards use the 12 areas described in how we review audit software and come from the site’s TeamMate review and Ideagen Internal Audit review, not from a side-by-side test. TeamMate scores seven Strong and six Adequate; Ideagen scores eight Adequate and five Limited, with no Strong rating anywhere on its card.

AreaTeamMateIdeagen Internal AuditWhat decides it
Risk assessment and planningStrongAdequateTeamMate’s continuous risk assessment and multi-year plan against Ideagen’s ORCT structure, described but not independently confirmed for resourcing or rolling plans
Engagement workflowStrongAdequateThirty years of TeamMate templates and TeamStore content against Ideagen’s control design and testing scheduling, with “agile auditing” as vendor language only
Workpapers and evidenceStrongAdequateTeamMate’s Document Linker and real-time sign-off against Ideagen’s electronic working papers and version control, thinner in the detail either vendor publishes
Issues and follow-upAdequateAdequateTeamMate reviewers report no batch edit or sign-off; Ideagen’s centralized tracking and CAPA functionality carry one dated credit-union case study
ReportingAdequateLimited“Inadequate Reporting” is TeamMate’s top G2 complaint; Ideagen’s reviewers describe custom reports as slow and coding-adjacent on three separate review sites
SOX and controls testingAdequateLimitedTeamMate Controls is a real, separately priced product; Ideagen has a mapping claim with no dedicated module or deficiency workflow found
Analytics and automationStrongLimitedTeamMate Analytics is a bundled, working Excel add-in; Ideagen’s documented integrations are limited to Word and Excel, with no analytics module in the audit product
AI featuresAdequateLimitedTeamMate’s AI Editor publishes its data-use safeguards; Ideagen’s Mazlan is broader in scope but discloses no data-training or retention terms
Quality program supportStrongLimitedTeamMate’s Business Rules Engine and methodology templates against Ideagen’s mapping and templates alone, with no QAIP metrics module found
Auditee experienceAdequateAdequateTeamMate auditees report one assignee per request; Ideagen’s daily due and overdue reminders (v1.6, November 2024) are real but no dedicated portal was found
Administration, integrations and securityStrongAdequateTeamMate’s FedRAMP Moderate authorization is independently verifiable on the FedRAMP Marketplace; Ideagen’s ISO 27001 and Cyber Essentials Plus are real but no SOC 2 report was found
Cost and contractAdequateAdequateTeamMate has itemized public invoices but a services line that outweighed one buyer’s subscription; Ideagen has a granular rate card offset by a 2-year minimum term and rising-cost complaints
Vendor viabilityStrongAdequateA public company with no private-equity exit clock against stable Hg ownership since 2022, offset by two unretired product generations

Seven Strongs to zero is a wider gap than the two products’ overall star ratings suggest, and it is concentrated in exactly the areas this comparison keeps returning to: analytics, quality program support and administration, integrations and security are all Strong for TeamMate and Limited or Adequate for Ideagen. Three rows genuinely tie — issues and follow-up, auditee experience and cost and contract — and two of those, issues and follow-up and auditee experience, are also where TeamMate’s own reviewers are least happy, so a demo that stresses both areas is the fairest test either vendor can be given.

Fit by situation, side by side

The eight situations are the same ones used on every review and comparison in this guide, so the ratings below match what each product’s own review already carries. TeamMate rates Strong fit in six situations and Workable in two; Ideagen rates Strong fit in only two, Workable in three and Poor fit in three.

SituationTeamMateIdeagen Internal AuditWhy the difference
First system for a small team (1 to 5 auditors)Strong fitWorkableTeamMate has a published two-user quote; Ideagen’s named-user pricing scales down but no small-team edition was found
Mid-size function (6 to 25 auditors)Strong fitStrong fitBoth vendors’ clearest match; this is the size of Ideagen’s own named case studies and sector events
Large or global function (25+ auditors)Strong fitWorkableTeamMate is live in 150 countries with regional data centers; Ideagen’s largest confirmed account, the UK National Audit Office, was leaving for a different system
SOX-heavy public companyWorkablePoor fitTeamMate Controls is a real, if smaller, SOX product; Ideagen has only a mapping claim with no dedicated module
Bank or credit unionStrong fitWorkableTeamMate carries financial-services references and an on-premise option; Ideagen has one dated FORUM Credit Union case study but no SOC 2 report was found
Public sector, higher education or nonprofitStrong fitStrong fitTeamMate’s FedRAMP listing and GSA Schedule against Ideagen’s G-Cloud rate card, University of Birmingham case study and National Housing Federation presence
Analytics-heavy teamStrong fitPoor fitTeamMate Analytics is a bundled, working tool; Ideagen has no analytics module and only Word and Excel integrations documented
Consolidating GRC across the three linesWorkablePoor fitTeamMate Risk & Compliance brings seven modules, still integrating; Ideagen’s portfolio has only Risk Management as an audit-adjacent module

Read the pattern, not just the row count. Ideagen’s two Strong-fit rows, the mid-size function and public sector, higher education or nonprofit, are exactly the sector this comparison was built to serve, and inside that lane it holds its own. Outside that lane, in three of the eight situations, TeamMate is Strong or Workable where Ideagen is rated Poor fit outright: SOX, analytics and GRC consolidation. A function whose needs might grow into any of those three should weight that gap heavily, whatever the two vendors’ UK pricing evidence suggests today.

Total cost of ownership over five years

Building a five-year total here means treating the two sides differently, because the public record does. The table states each gap and currency difference rather than converting past it.

BasisTeamMate, illustrationIdeagen, illustrationAssumption and caveat
Only itemized small-team quote$46,384.40: $6,150.88 a year for two users, times five ($30,754.40), plus the $15,630 implementation fee after a $6,000 discountNo directly equivalent figure; the new cloud edition’s own headline, held flat for five years, would be £31,875 (£6,375 times five)City of Norman, 28 February 2025, is a real two-user quote; Ideagen’s G-Cloud figure is an instance fee, not a named-user quote, and the two are in different currencies
Only itemized public-sector support or continuation record$988,160 over five years for support and maintenance on existing licenses£375,000 ex VAT over two years, not five, for a sole-source continuation of the legacy edition, explicitly a bridge to a different systemNew York State Comptroller, contract C001165, 2023; UK National Audit Office, Find a Tender notice, 2023; the terms are different lengths and the Ideagen record is an exit, not a renewal commitment
Legacy-edition seats, in the currency each vendor’s own UK record uses£30,322 ex VAT for maintenance on 10 legacy TeamMate AM licenses, 18 March 2024 to 17 March 2027, about £10,107 a year£13,870 a year, roughly equivalent on the rate card’s own named-user math to 10 licenses at the top tierBoth are UK, GBP, roughly-10-seat figures on each vendor’s older generation; one is maintenance-only on owned licenses, the other a fresh subscription headline
Headline instance fee alone, held flat for five years (illustrative only)Not applicable: TeamMate publishes no per-instance fee; its model is per named user£31,875 (new edition) or £69,350 (legacy edition), before named-user licensing, services or the support uplift, all shown as additive on the same rate cardIllustrative only; both Ideagen figures understate the real cost of any deployment large enough to need named-user tiers

Read the shape of the table, not a single winner: ask each vendor to quote the same named-user count, currency and contract length before treating either published figure as the number that will land on an invoice. The site’s internal audit software pricing guide sets both vendors’ numbers beside every other product in this section, and the vendor-neutral RFP method has the pricing schedule to send so both quotes come back comparable.

Migration between them

No public case study describes a customer moving directly between TeamMate and Ideagen Internal Audit in either direction, and neither vendor’s documentation claims an import tool for the other’s workpaper archive. What normally carries over cleanly to any new system is structural: the audit universe, the current-year plan (see the site’s annual risk assessment playbook), the risk and control matrix, and open issues, where the site’s finding and issue log template lists the fields a migration has to carry across. What does not carry over automatically is the file itself, because each vendor’s sign-off history and audit trail are built for its own product, and no bulk-import tool comparable to some rivals’ was found published by either vendor.

The migration either vendor’s buyer is actually more likely to face is not between the two, but off an older generation of the same product, and both vendors are mid-way through exactly that. TeamMate AM’s expected 2023 end of life left plenty of customers still on it years later, per the UK maintenance record above. Ideagen’s own National Audit Office contract makes the same point from inside a single vendor: £375,000 sole-sourced specifically as a bridge while the customer migrated away, not a vote of confidence in either Ideagen generation. A buyer already on TeamMate AM or the legacy Pentana Audit MK edition has migration work to do before ever comparing the two vendors head to head, and should get a written cutover plan and the closed-engagement archive’s export format before signing anything new. The site’s guide to implementing audit management software covers the first 120 days either direction requires.

Our recommendation

Start with how far the function’s ambition runs, because that is what the fit table above actually measures. Choose TeamMate if the function is a bank, credit union, or a large or global operation; if SOX depth or scripted analytics might matter within the life of the contract; if on-premise or offline deployment is required; or if a broader, independently verifiable review base and FedRAMP-style authorization language matter to the audit committee. Choose Ideagen Internal Audit if the function is a mid-size, six-to-25-auditor UK housing association, local authority, university or credit union that wants a workable planning-to-reporting system, has no near-term SOX or analytics ambition, and would rather see a published G-Cloud rate card than negotiate a bespoke quote from scratch.

Two points settle the question outright here. If SOX is any part of the mandate, neither product is the right answer; read internal audit software vs compliance automation to see why Optro and Workiva sit on a different shortlist entirely. If the deciding factor is procurement channel rather than capability, the two vendors are not even competing on the same one: Ideagen is on the UK’s own G-Cloud framework today; TeamMate’s authorization story runs through the US FedRAMP Marketplace and GSA Schedule instead, so ask each vendor directly how it prices and supports a UK contract. Otherwise, run the demo script against your own control population and read the 15 buying mistakes guide before deciding on price alone. TeamMate rates the same way against Optro, Diligent One and Workiva too; only Ideagen’s narrower sector fit changes the calculus here, and TeamMate alternatives has ten more options if neither of these two is the answer.

Questions about TeamMate and Ideagen Internal Audit

Is Ideagen Internal Audit the same as Pentana Audit?

Yes. Ideagen’s own product page states that Pentana Audit is now known as Ideagen Internal Audit, and the company still sells two technical generations of it in parallel: the legacy, Windows-and-offline-capable Pentana Audit MK edition, and the newer public-cloud edition. Ask which one is in any quote; no published sunset date for the older edition was found.

Which is cheaper, TeamMate or Ideagen Internal Audit?

The comparison is asymmetric rather than a clean answer. TeamMate has an itemized quote of $6,150.88 a year for two users; Ideagen’s clearest figure is a £6,375-a-year instance fee for the new cloud edition, or £13,870 for the legacy edition, both before named-user licensing and services are added, and in a different currency. Get both vendors to quote the same user count, currency and contract length before assuming either published figure is what you would actually pay.

Is either one available through the UK Government’s G-Cloud framework?

Only Ideagen. Its legacy and new-technology editions, plus Ideagen Risk Management, are all listed on the UK Government’s G-Cloud 14 marketplace, dated 14 October 2025, with published named-user tiers, day rates and support percentages. No G-Cloud listing was found for TeamMate; its UK public-sector price evidence instead comes from Contracts Finder single-tender notices covering maintenance on licenses a buyer already owns, not a self-service rate card.

Does either one handle SOX well?

Neither is a strong SOX product, though TeamMate goes further. TeamMate Controls is a separate, purpose-built product with a control library, testing cycles, self-assessment and ICFR certification, rated Adequate on this site’s scorecard. Ideagen only maps SOX as one of several frameworks inside its general workflow, with no dedicated module, segregation-of-duties testing or deficiency-classification workflow found, rated Limited. A SOX-centric public company should look at Optro (formerly AuditBoard) or Workiva instead; see the site’s SOX compliance software comparison.

Which is better for a UK housing association, local authority or university?

Both have a real, documented presence in that world, and the honest answer depends on ambition. Ideagen has the more specific sector story: a University of Birmingham case study, a National Housing Federation conference presence, non-profit and education discounts built into its G-Cloud rate card, and a Strong fit rating in this guide for public sector, higher education and nonprofit. TeamMate rates Strong fit there too, with a larger review base, an on-premise option and FedRAMP-style authorization language some boards ask for, but thinner UK pricing evidence. A function that wants the specifically UK-procurable, sector-focused product should shortlist Ideagen; a function that wants the larger, more broadly reviewed platform should shortlist TeamMate.

Which is better for a small audit team?

TeamMate, on the published evidence. Its Essentials edition, with analytics and hosting included, was quoted at $6,150.88 a year for two users, and it rates Strong fit for a first system in this guide. Ideagen has no published small-team edition; named-user pricing scales down but not to a token level, and it rates only Workable for a one-to-five-auditor function. See the site’s TeamMate alternatives page for what else a small team might consider.

internalauditguide.com has no commercial relationship with Wolters Kluwer, Ideagen or any other vendor named on this page. We take no vendor money, run no affiliate links and accept no sponsored placements, and no vendor saw this page before publication. Product and company names are the trademarks of their owners. Corrections: desk@internalauditguide.com.

Sources and verification

New guides & tools by email

Useful so far?

There are 400+ more guides where this came from. Get new guides, templates and free audit tools by email when they ship. No schedule, no filler.

Free. One confirmation email from WordPress.com, then you’re in. Unsubscribe anytime.

New guides & tools by email

Don’t lose this library.

400+ practitioner-written guides and free tools. Hear when new ones land.

One confirmation email from WordPress.com, then you’re in. Unsubscribe anytime.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Discover more from internalauditguide.com

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading