Optro (formerly AuditBoard) and Onspring turn up on the same shortlist for a practical reason, not a marketing one. A mid-size internal audit function pricing its first real platform, or trading up from Excel, is usually choosing between an audit-native incumbent and a cheaper, purpose-built no-code alternative, and these two define that choice. Optro is the incumbent most evaluators already know by its old name, AuditBoard, with a decade of workpaper and SOX tooling behind it and by far the largest verified review base among internal audit platforms. Onspring is the smaller, purpose-built alternative, with higher user ratings than Optro on G2 and Capterra, a Vendr median roughly a quarter lower, and an actual FedRAMP Moderate authorization rather than a requirements statement. Because AuditBoard only became Optro on 9 March 2026, this comparison is still searched under both names. The short answer: choose Optro if SOX certification workflows, deep analytics connectors or a function above 25 auditors are the priority; choose Onspring if budget, an actual FedRAMP authorization, or a lighter no-code platform for audit, risk and compliance together matter more.
This comparison covers what each product actually is on paper, where their workpapers, SOX, analytics, AI and cost structures genuinely differ, the twelve-area scorecard and fit-by-situation ratings side by side, and a five-year cost illustration built from the public record. It is one of the comparisons in the site’s independent buyer’s guide to internal audit software, and it follows the evidence levels and scorecard described in how we review audit software. The full Optro review and Onspring review cover each product in depth for anyone who wants one platform rather than the two side by side.
Verdict. Onspring is the better-rated, lower-cost, FedRAMP-authorized choice for a function of one to 25 auditors that is not running a SOX-heavy public company program. Optro is the safer choice once SOX certification workflows, deep analytics connectors or a function above 25 auditors are the priority, and its higher price buys a decade of audit-only refinement that Onspring still asks an administrator to configure. Neither is the wrong shortlist to be on; the decision turns on how much SOX weight your function carries and how much configuration effort you will trade for a lower bill.
Choose Optro if. SOX certification and 302 and 404 attestation workflows are central to the job; your function is 25 or more auditors, or spans risk, compliance and third-party work that needs one shared data model; you want no-code analytics with 150-plus named connectors rather than workflow automation alone; or unlimited free stakeholder seats matter more to you than a lower headline price.
Choose Onspring if. budget matters and you can name an administrator to own configuration; you are a federal, state or higher-education buyer that needs an actual FedRAMP Moderate authorization rather than a requirements statement; your audit function is 25 or fewer people, or you want audit, risk, compliance and third-party work sharing one no-code platform without an audit-native suite’s per-module pricing; or you want to know exactly which AI model, Anthropic’s Claude, is doing the work.
Evidence. Research-based: vendor documentation and release notes, public procurement records, third-party pricing data, verified user reviews on Gartner Peer Insights and G2, and analyst coverage. We have not used either product hands-on for this comparison.
Price evidence. No public list price for either product; quote only. Vendr’s data for Optro, updated February 2026, puts its median contract at $45,947 a year (range $21,220 to $111,208, 86 purchases). Vendr’s data for Onspring, viewed 26 September 2026, puts its median at $33,808 a year (range $9,972 to $55,810). AuditBoard’s November 2023 bid to the West Virginia Department of Transportation priced 25 core users at $164,000 a year.
Last verified. 27 September 2026.
In this guide
- Optro and Onspring in one table
- Where they are different
- Head to head: the scorecard
- Fit by situation, side by side
- Total cost of ownership over five years
- Migration between them
- Our recommendation
- Questions about Optro and Onspring
- Sources and verification
- Related guides
Optro and Onspring in one table
The table below draws on each vendor’s own documentation, the site’s Optro review and Onspring review, and the public procurement and ratings record; the figures and ratings match what each review already carries, so nothing here contradicts either page read on its own.
| Attribute | Optro (formerly AuditBoard) | Onspring |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Hg, a private equity firm (agreed 23 May 2024, more than $3 billion) | Founder-led; Capital IP Investment Partners holds a minority growth stake (since 9 May 2023, undisclosed amount) |
| Category | Modular SaaS suite; audit is 1 of 10 products, the one the company was built around | No-code GRC platform; a dedicated Internal Audit Management product among nine others |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS) only | Cloud (SaaS), plus an Onspring GovCloud edition |
| Audit and SOX modules | Internal Audit (OpsAudit) and Controls Management (SOX, formerly SOXHUB), plus Autonomous Testing | Internal Audit Management (Audit & Assurance); SOX work runs inside Compliance Management |
| Pricing model | Per core user (auditor, tester or administrator) and per module; stakeholder and auditee users are free and unlimited | By users, by products (unlimited employee users) or a hybrid, plus a Bronze-to-Platinum platform level |
| Price evidence | Vendr median $45,947 a year, range $21,220 to $111,208, 86 purchases (updated February 2026); a November 2023 bid priced 25 core users at $164,000 a year | Vendr median $33,808 a year, range $9,972 to $55,810 (viewed 26 September 2026) |
| User ratings | G2 4.6 from about 1,613 reviews; Gartner Peer Insights 4.5 from 890 in the Audit Management Solutions market | G2 4.7 from 80 reviews; Gartner Peer Insights 4.5 from 16 in the same market (4.7 from 49 vendor-wide) |
| FedRAMP | Trust pages say hosting meets FedRAMP Moderate impact requirements; no authorization statement found | GovCloud edition holds a FedRAMP Moderate authorization (Marketplace listing, 27 March 2024) |
| Vendor viability | Hg-owned since 2024, more than $300 million in claimed annual recurring revenue, two acquisitions in 12 months | Founder-owned since 2010, no rebrands, minority growth capital from Capital IP |
Three things stand out before the detail. First, Onspring’s ratings match or beat Optro’s on every site that scores both, but from a fraction of the reviews: a tied 4.5 in Gartner Peer Insights’ audit-specific market from 16 reviews against Optro’s 890, and 4.7 against 4.6 on G2 from 80 against about 1,613. That is a real signal, not a decisive one. Second, the FedRAMP line is not a marketing nuance: Onspring’s GovCloud edition has an actual Moderate authorization on the FedRAMP Marketplace, while Optro’s trust pages only state that its hosting meets the requirements. Third, the pricing philosophies run in opposite directions: Optro charges per person who creates or edits work, so the bill grows with headcount regardless of modules bought, while Onspring’s by-products option charges per licensed product with unlimited employee users, so the bill grows with platform breadth instead. A function with 20 auditors and one module prices very differently on the two models than the medians alone imply.
Where they are different
The table above is the shape of the decision; the sections below are the substance. Seven factors do most of the work when a shortlist comes down to these two products.
A decade of audit-only depth against a purpose-built app on a general platform
Onspring’s Internal Audit Management product, sold as Audit & Assurance, is not a generic workflow shell the way a bare no-code application would be: its product page lists an auditable entity library, an annual coverage map, resourcing and budget tracking, linked workpapers with multi-level sign-off, review notes, an evidence locker, an external auditor portal and final report templates, all specific to the job. That puts it closer to Optro’s OpsAudit than the phrase “no-code platform” suggests at first glance. Where the gap still shows is in the parts of the workflow Optro has spent more than a decade refining since its 2014 start as SOXHUB: risk-aligned, resourced annual planning; Annotate, the tickmarking feature Capterra reviewers single out most often; and a workpaper versioning and retention model detailed enough to describe on a public page. Onspring’s public pages do not describe workpaper lockdown, version history or how an edit trail exports for an external quality assessment, which is why the scorecard below rates workpapers Adequate for Onspring against Strong for Optro. The site’s annual risk assessment playbook and annotated workpaper examples describe what each system’s layer is being asked to reproduce.
SOX and controls
Optro’s SOX product is the reason the company exists, and it still shows. Controls Management, the descendant of SOXHUB, ships an out-of-the-box risk and control matrix, certification workflows tying management’s 302 and 404 attestations to evidence, external auditor access, and, since 6 May 2026, the Midship-derived Autonomous Testing engine that the company says automates up to 87 percent of SOX program management, a claim worth testing on your own control population first. Onspring does not sell a SOX product; that work runs inside Compliance Management, a control library mapped to SOX alongside ISO 27001, HIPAA, PCI DSS, GDPR, NIST and CMMC, with design and operating tests, gap assessments and an evidence locker that lets one submission satisfy several frameworks at once, an advantage for a function juggling SOX and a security framework together. What its public pages do not show is an ICFR-specific layer: top-down scoping by materiality, deficiency aggregation and severity evaluation, a management assessment roll-up, or an external-auditor reliance workflow. All of it can be configured, but a company whose program centers on 404 should weigh that effort against a system that ships it, which is why SOX and controls testing rates Strong for Optro and Adequate for Onspring below. The site’s guides to SOX 404 and evaluating control deficiencies describe what the configuration would have to reproduce.
Analytics and automation
Neither product is an analytics tool. Onspring automates workflow well (triggers, conditional routing, reminders and escalations are the platform’s core strength) but ships no scripted, full-population testing engine: no ACL-style command language, no library of pre-built tests, nothing that replaces IDEA, Arbutus or Python for duplicate detection, Benford’s law or stratified sampling across an ERP extract. Optro Analytics goes a step further: a no-code, drag-and-drop layer with templates for common tests (anomaly detection, user access reviews, document matching) that can run on a schedule against more than 150 named data connections, including Okta, Workday, Snowflake and Oracle. It is still not a scripting environment, and limited analytics is the single most repeated complaint in Optro’s own G2 reviews, but it is a real capability Onspring’s public pages do not describe having at all, sharp enough to separate the two products’ fit-by-situation ratings for analytics-heavy teams below: Workable for Optro, Poor fit for Onspring. Either way, a team doing serious full-population work keeps a dedicated tool on the side; the site’s audit analytics software comparison covers the candidates.
AI: a named model against published data-use terms
The two companies have made opposite disclosure choices. Onspring is specific about the model: both Onspring AI (launched 14 October 2025) and Agentic GRC (announced 27 July 2026) run on Anthropic’s Claude family, governed, per the announcements, by an internal AI Governance Council with administrator-defined guardrails. What Onspring’s public pages do not state is how customer data is handled: whether prompts and documents are retained, whether anything trains on them, or where processing happens. Optro’s AI page takes the opposite approach: it publishes a clear data-use statement (no training on customer data, customers retain ownership of inputs and outputs, AI features are opt-in, actions are logged) but names only “in-house machine learning plus Microsoft’s Azure OpenAI service” rather than a specific model or retention period. Get whichever statement applies into the contract before any pilot, using the questions in the site’s guide to evaluating AI in audit software; Gartner’s April 2026 market guide is blunt about the reason, warning buyers to be wary of agent-washing across the whole category.
On what the AI actually does for audit, Optro’s roadmap is longer and more audit-specific. It runs from AuditBoard AI (24 April 2024, platform-wide drafting) through Accelerate (22 October 2025: an Audit Agent for risk-based sampling and evidence annotation, plus Document Intelligence) to Autonomous Testing (6 May 2026: agents running SOX attribute tests, access reviews and bank reconciliations from raw evidence). Onspring’s audit-specific features are AI tickmarking, auto-summaries of testing results, intelligent field suggestions while writing procedures and findings, and automated checks that trace a control failure across related processes; Agentic GRC adds general-purpose agents (documentation review, third-party follow-ups, policy review, risk exposure analysis) that are not audit-specific and, as of this comparison, untested in any audit case study.
| AI attribute | Optro | Onspring |
|---|---|---|
| Named model | Not named; described as in-house machine learning plus Microsoft’s Azure OpenAI service | Anthropic’s Claude family, stated in both launch announcements |
| Data-use statement | Not used to train models; customers retain ownership of inputs and outputs; opt-in; actions logged | Not published on the pages we read; retention, training and processing location unstated |
| Governance | AI workflows marked for human validation; opt-in | An internal AI Governance Council; administrator-defined guardrails |
| Audit-specific feature | Audit Agent (sampling, annotation) and Autonomous Testing (SOX attribute tests, access reviews, reconciliations) | AI tickmarking, auto-summaries, intelligent field suggestions, cross-process control-failure checks |
| 2026 agent layer | Autonomous Testing, from the Midship acquisition, aimed specifically at SOX program testing | Agentic GRC (27 July 2026): general-purpose agents for documentation, third-party follow-up, policy review and risk exposure analysis |
| Vendor claim to test yourself | Autonomous Testing automates up to 87 percent of SOX program management | None quantified in public materials |
Reporting and integrations
Optro’s reporting is the more finished of the two: engagement reports generate directly from workpaper fields using hashtag-style references, more than 25 pre-built dashboards ship with row-level security, and a Power BI integration, marketed as AuditBoard Intelligence, serves functions that want audit data in the business’s own BI environment; the company’s claim that audit committee report preparation time falls by up to 70 percent is its own figure, not ours. Onspring’s reporting is configurable rather than designed: final reports come from PDF or Word templates, dashboards from widgets and filters, and a minority of Capterra reviewers liken the result to a glorified Excel table with limited visualization options. Expect functional, table-driven output a capable administrator can make presentable, not a designed board pack out of the box; the site’s audit committee deck template is the standard to hold either output to.
Integrations follow the same pattern. Optro names more than 150 connectors, including Okta, Workday, Snowflake and Oracle, plus automated evidence collection that pulls HR and access evidence directly from systems such as Workday and ADP Workforce, a real head start on access-review testing. Onspring’s public API V2 has a documented Swagger definition covering apps, fields, files, lists, records and reports, enough to move populations and push findings to a ticketing system, but it is a records API rather than an audit-specific one, so budget developer time; named integrations cover Microsoft 365 co-authoring, OneDrive and Google Drive references, Jira, Slack, in-platform e-signing and third-party data feeds that each need a separate subscription. Optro shipped an MCP server on 28 April 2026 for natural-language queries against platform data within user permissions; Onspring describes no equivalent as of this comparison.
Cost, contract structure and public-sector access
The per-person philosophy is the sharpest structural difference between these two products. Optro’s West Virginia bid works out to about $6,560 per core user a year for the first 25, before volume discounts, because every auditor, tester or administrator who creates or edits work is a paid seat; stakeholder and auditee users are free and unlimited, which matters more as a function grows its auditee base than its auditor headcount. Onspring’s by-products licensing runs the other way: it charges for the products you license and gives unlimited employee users within them, so a function can put every action-plan owner, and in principle every auditor, on the system without a per-seat bill. Its platform level, Bronze through Platinum, governs support hours and training seats rather than features, and the AI add-on needs Silver or higher; Vendr’s notes flag a 2024 price increase and an in-house implementation rate $50 to $75 an hour above a partner’s. Neither vendor publishes a price list; Optro’s contracts, per Vendr’s data, typically carry 3 to 7 percent annual escalators and 10 to 30 percent implementation fees, though the West Virginia bid shows a public-sector buyer can secure flat five-year pricing by asking.
Public-sector access is where the two products genuinely diverge, not just differ in degree. Onspring’s GovCloud edition holds an actual FedRAMP Moderate authorization, listed on the FedRAMP Marketplace since 27 March 2024, under an agency sponsorship that began with the Tennessee Valley Authority, with dedicated federal applications for OMB A-123 controls and plans of action and milestones, sold directly and through resellers including Carahsoft. Optro’s trust pages state that its hosting meets FedRAMP Moderate impact requirements, but no authorization statement was found on the pages we read, so a federal buyer needing a real authorization to operate should ask Optro for the sponsoring agency and the letter itself. For state, local and higher-education buyers rather than federal agencies, the comparison tilts back: Optro’s own Carahsoft partnership added NASPO ValuePoint and OMNIA Partners contract vehicles on 22 September 2026, and the University of California’s systemwide agreement, executed 23 December 2025, is a concrete higher-education reference; Onspring’s public-sector case study base is thinner, built mainly around the University of Virginia’s audit and compliance office. The site’s audit software for banks and credit unions guide and internal audit software pricing guide go deeper on regulated-industry and public-sector buying specifically.
What users say, head to head
Gartner Peer Insights segments its reviews by market, so each company’s score in the Audit Management Solutions market reflects people who bought the product for audit specifically: Onspring’s 16 reviews there are a small fraction of Optro’s 890, and Onspring’s vendor-wide score, 4.7 from 49 spread across four markets, is a different number from its audit-market score, 4.5 from 16, worth holding onto rather than quoting the higher figure out of context. G2 does not segment by use case, so both companies’ scores there describe every reviewer across every application each platform sells, not only auditors: Onspring’s 4.7 from 80 edges out Optro’s 4.6 from about 1,613, but from roughly a twentieth as many voices.
| Metric | Optro | Onspring |
|---|---|---|
| Gartner Peer Insights, Audit Management Solutions market | 4.5 from 890 reviews | 4.5 from 16 reviews |
| Gartner Peer Insights, vendor-wide | Not separately reported; 1,190 ratings across all Gartner markets | 4.7 from 49 reviews across four markets |
| G2, whole-product rating | 4.6 from about 1,613 reviews | 4.7 from 80 reviews |
| Capterra | 4.7 from 414 reviews (ease of use 4.6, customer service 4.6) | 4.8 from 105 reviews (ease of use 4.7, customer service 5.0) |
| Most-cited praise | Ease of use; a single source of truth across audit and SOX | Customization and configurability; ease of use; customer support |
| Most-cited complaint | Limited analytics and customization | Learning curve; complex setup and configuration |
Read the sample sizes before the averages. A 16-review market score is a thin base for a decision an audit function will live with for years, and the pattern in both sets of complaints is instructive: Onspring’s flexibility produces a learning curve because someone has to configure it, and Optro’s maturity produces an analytics ceiling because the product was never built as a testing engine. Neither complaint is about reliability or lost data on either platform.
Head to head: the scorecard
The 12 areas and four levels are the ones defined in how we review audit software; the levels below match those already published in each product’s own review, so nothing here contradicts either page read on its own.
| Area | Optro | Onspring | What decides it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Risk assessment and planning | Strong | Strong | Both ship an entity library or universe, coverage tracking and resourcing; a close call |
| Engagement workflow | Strong | Strong | Optro’s reusable work programs ship built for audit; Onspring’s milestones and sign-offs are configured; both work well |
| Workpapers and evidence | Strong | Adequate | Optro’s Annotate tickmarking is its most-praised feature; Onspring’s versioning, lockdown and retention model is not publicly described |
| Issues and follow-up | Strong | Strong | Both handle this well: Optro through a platform-wide issue register, Onspring through records linked to controls and policies |
| Reporting | Strong | Adequate | Optro generates committee reports straight from workpaper fields; reviewers call Onspring’s dashboards a glorified Excel table |
| SOX and controls testing | Strong | Adequate | Optro’s SOXHUB heritage and Autonomous Testing outweigh Onspring’s config-heavy Compliance Management, which ships no ICFR-specific layer |
| Analytics and automation | Adequate | Limited | Optro’s no-code layer and 150-plus connectors are limited but real; Onspring has strong workflow automation but no testing engine |
| AI features | Strong | Adequate | Optro publishes data-use terms and has shipped more audit-specific agents; Onspring names its model but not its data terms |
| Quality program support | Adequate | Adequate | Neither ships QAIP metrics; both can enforce methodology through configured workflow steps |
| Auditee experience | Strong | Strong | Free or unlimited non-builder users on both sides: Optro’s unlimited stakeholder seats, Onspring’s product licensing |
| Administration, integrations and security | Strong | Strong | Optro claims FedRAMP requirements are met, not authorization; Onspring holds an actual FedRAMP Moderate authorization |
| Cost and contract | Adequate | Strong | Optro’s per-core-user-and-module pricing adds up faster; Onspring’s model is transparent and sits well below Optro’s |
| Vendor viability | Strong | Favorable | Optro has more scale and momentum; Onspring has a decade of stability and no rebrands, at a smaller size |
Read the pattern, not just the letters. Optro is Strong in nine of the twelve areas, with its remaining three (analytics, quality program support, cost) in exactly the areas a bigger, pricier platform tends to leave to the buyer. Onspring is Strong in five, Adequate in six and Limited only in analytics, which no-code platforms are generally not built to cover; its two clear wins, cost and the FedRAMP authorization inside administration and security, are the reasons it keeps appearing on the same shortlist as a far larger product. Neither pattern is disqualifying; both are worth testing directly. The site’s demo script has scenarios for each area.
Fit by situation, side by side
The eight situations are the site’s standard decision device, applied the same way on every review and comparison in this guide; the ratings below are the ones each product’s own review already carries.
| Situation | Optro | Onspring | Why the difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| First system for a small team (1 to 5 auditors) | Workable | Strong fit | Onspring’s Vendr floor is far lower ($9,972) and unlimited employee users under product licensing cost nothing extra; Optro’s floor is higher ($21,220) and arrives more finished |
| Mid-size function (6 to 25 auditors) | Strong fit | Strong fit | Both are built for this size; the decision turns on SOX weight, not capability |
| Large or global function (25+ auditors) | Strong fit | Workable | Optro has Fortune 500 references and unlimited stakeholder seats at scale; Onspring’s methodology enforcement and multi-entity administration at this size are not documented publicly |
| SOX-heavy public company | Strong fit | Workable | Optro’s SOXHUB heritage and Autonomous Testing target this buyer directly; Onspring’s Compliance Management is adequate, not primary |
| Bank or credit union | Strong fit | Workable | Optro carries bank references and SOC 1 reporting; Onspring has SOC 2 Type II and a FedRAMP hosting option but few published bank case studies |
| Public sector, higher education or nonprofit | Workable | Strong fit | Onspring’s actual FedRAMP Moderate GovCloud beats Optro’s requirements-only statement; Optro counters with Carahsoft’s state and education contract vehicles and the UC agreement |
| Analytics-heavy team | Workable | Poor fit | Onspring has no testing engine at all; Optro’s no-code layer and 150-plus connectors are limited but real |
| Consolidating GRC across the three lines | Strong fit | Strong fit | Both are built for this, in different flavors: Optro’s modules share one data model but each is its own line item; Onspring’s product licensing charges by breadth, not headcount |
Two rows flip in opposite directions and are worth reading together. Onspring wins the small-team and public-sector rows on the same evidence that costs it the large-function and SOX-heavy rows: a lower, flatter price and an actual FedRAMP authorization matter most exactly where Optro’s audit-native depth matters least, and the reverse holds at the other end of the market.
Total cost of ownership over five years
Neither vendor publishes a price list, so any five-year total has to be built from the public record rather than assumed. The figures below hold each vendor’s own verified numbers flat across five years; they do not add Optro’s typical 3 to 7 percent escalators or any unstated Onspring renewal terms, and they do not add module, product or user counts beyond what the source actually states, per the site’s rule against estimating a price ourselves. Where no public figure exists at a given scale, the table says so rather than filling the gap with an invented number.
| Scenario and source | Optro | Onspring |
|---|---|---|
| Smallest verified deal, held flat for five years | Vendr’s published floor, $21,220 a year, times five years equals $106,100 (module and user mix not stated) | Vendr’s published floor, $9,972 a year, times five years equals $49,860 (product mix and user count not stated) |
| Typical verified deal (median), held flat for five years | Vendr’s median, $45,947 a year, times five years equals $229,735 | Vendr’s median, $33,808 a year, times five years equals $169,040 |
| Largest verified Vendr deal, held flat for five years | Vendr’s published ceiling, $111,208 a year, times five years equals $556,040 | Vendr’s published ceiling, $55,810 a year, times five years equals $279,050 |
| Itemized deal, a vendor’s own published total | West Virginia DOT bid: $990,750 over five years for 25 core users, including implementation and service allowances (AuditBoard’s own published total) | No public procurement record with an Onspring contract amount was found — |
Two things follow. First, at every point on the Vendr range, Optro costs between roughly 1.3 and just over 2 times what Onspring costs for a contract of comparable size, the plainest number in this whole comparison and the one most buyers actually decide on. Second, Optro is the only one of the two with a public, itemized total at a stated headcount; a function pricing Onspring at a similar scale should treat the Vendr range as a guide and insist on an itemized quote covering the licensing model, platform level and any AI add-on before comparing totals. The site’s internal audit software pricing guide applies the same method to every other product in this section.
Migration between them
No public case study describes a customer moving directly between Optro and Onspring in either direction, so what follows is general guidance rather than a documented path. The more common real-world move is one-directional: a small function that outgrows a first no-code system trades up as headcount and SOX weight grow, or a function that finds an audit-native suite too expensive for its size moves down and accepts the configuration work in exchange. What normally survives a move either way is structural: the audit universe or entity library, the current-year plan, the risk and control matrix, and open issues all export as records or spreadsheets from either platform. What does not survive automatically is the workpaper archive itself, because the two products store it on different assumptions: Optro’s Annotate-tagged evidence files have no direct equivalent in Onspring’s linked-record workpapers, and Onspring’s co-authored Office documents do not map onto Optro’s tickmark structure either. Before signing with either vendor, get the export terms in writing: Optro’s West Virginia bid confirms exports in ZIP, PDF and CSV, and Onspring’s public pages state no retrieval window or format at termination, so ask directly. The site’s guide to implementing audit management software covers the first 120 days either migration requires.
Our recommendation
Start with what your function actually is, not with which vendor’s sales team called first. A function of 25 or more auditors, a SOX-heavy public company, a bank or credit union, or a team that wants no-code analytics on top of workflow should shortlist Optro first and use Onspring as the lighter, cheaper alternative to weigh against it. A function of one to 25 auditors, a public-sector or higher-education buyer that needs a real FedRAMP authorization, or an organization consolidating risk, compliance and third-party work with audit on one no-code platform without per-module pricing should shortlist Onspring first and use Optro as the audit-native alternative to test it against.
Two situations settle the question outright. If the requirement is a shipped SOX certification workflow with 302 and 404 attestations tied to evidence, Onspring is not the answer without significant configuration; Optro or Workiva are the primary candidates. If the requirement is an actual FedRAMP Moderate authorization for a federal agency rather than a statement that hosting meets the requirements, Onspring’s GovCloud edition is the one with the Marketplace listing to show for it. Everywhere else, run both through the site’s vendor-neutral RFP method and demo script before deciding on price alone; if neither fits, the Optro alternatives page and the Onspring vs LogicGate vs Resolver comparison cover the rest of the mid-market field, and the site’s 15 buying mistakes guide is worth reading before either contract is signed. Three other comparisons settle adjacent questions this one does not: Optro vs Archer and Optro vs ServiceNow IRM cover the choice against an enterprise GRC suite rather than a no-code platform, Optro vs Vanta explains why compliance automation is a different category altogether, and the best internal audit software ranking covers the full 25-product field beyond just these two.
Questions about Optro and Onspring
Why do search results still say “AuditBoard vs Onspring”?
AuditBoard renamed itself Optro on 9 March 2026, and search habits have not caught up: people still type “AuditBoard vs Onspring” alongside “Optro vs Onspring,” and both lead to the same product, contracts and ownership. Only the name changed; nothing about what the company sells, who owns it, or how it is priced changed with it.
Which is cheaper, Optro or Onspring?
Onspring is cheaper on every public figure available. Vendr’s data puts Onspring’s median contract at $33,808 a year against Optro’s $45,947, and the gap is wider at the low end: Onspring’s floor is $9,972 against Optro’s $21,220. Neither figure is a quote; both vendors price by a model that depends on headcount, modules or products, so treat these numbers as a starting point for negotiation, not a budget.
Is Onspring actually FedRAMP authorized?
Yes, for the GovCloud edition specifically. Onspring GovCloud received a FedRAMP Moderate authorization listed on the FedRAMP Marketplace on 27 March 2024, sold directly and through resellers including Carahsoft. Optro’s trust pages state that its hosting meets FedRAMP Moderate impact requirements, but no authorization statement was found on the pages we read; a federal buyer should ask Optro directly for the sponsoring agency and the authorization letter before treating the two as equivalent.
Can Onspring replace Optro for a SOX program?
Not without real configuration work. Onspring’s Compliance Management product runs control testing and evidence collection well, and its evidence locker lets one submission satisfy SOX and another framework at once, but the public pages describe no shipped ICFR scoping, deficiency-severity evaluation or external-auditor reliance workflow. A SOX-heavy public company should treat Optro or Workiva as the primary shortlist and Onspring as a secondary option unless the appeal is running SOX on the same no-code platform as everything else.
Does either vendor train its AI on our audit data?
Optro says no in writing: its AI page states that customer data is not used to train its models, that customers retain ownership of inputs and outputs, and that AI actions are logged, though it names only “in-house machine learning plus Microsoft’s Azure OpenAI service” rather than a specific model. Onspring names its model, Anthropic’s Claude, across both Onspring AI and Agentic GRC, but the pages we read do not state whether prompts or documents are retained or used for training. Get whichever statement applies in writing, and ask about the gap the other vendor leaves, before enabling either product’s AI add-on.
Which is better for a small audit team?
Onspring, on the public evidence. It is one of the few products in this guide that rates a strong fit for a first system: product licensing gives unlimited employee users, and the low end of Vendr’s range is under $10,000 a year. Optro works at this size too, but it is rarely the best value below five auditors, and reviewers at smaller organizations say its templates need the most adaptation. Either way, price TeamMate’s Essentials edition and the rest of the field before deciding; the site’s audit software for small teams guide has real numbers for the comparison.
internalauditguide.com has no commercial relationship with Optro, Onspring or any other vendor named on this page. We take no vendor money, run no affiliate links and accept no sponsored placements, and no vendor saw this page before publication. Product and company names are the trademarks of their owners. Corrections: desk@internalauditguide.com.
Sources and verification
- Meet Optro: AuditBoard unveils new identity (PR Newswire, 9 March 2026) — the rebrand date and the ownership and analyst claims Optro repeats (accessed 26 September 2026).
- AuditBoard agrees to be acquired by Hg (Hg, 23 May 2024) — deal value, ownership and customer claims at the buyout (accessed 26 September 2026).
- Optro: AI and LLM information page — module list, revenue and customer claims (accessed 26 September 2026).
- Optro trust and security page — certifications, hosting and the FedRAMP requirements statement (accessed 26 September 2026).
- Vendr: AuditBoard (Optro) marketplace page — median contract value, range and negotiation notes, updated February 2026 (accessed 26 September 2026).
- AuditBoard bid response to West Virginia DOT, CRFQ 0803 DOT2400000036 (November 2023) — the itemized 25-user price, per-user rate and five-year total (accessed 26 September 2026).
- Gartner Peer Insights: Audit Management Solutions market — Optro’s and Onspring’s ratings and review counts in the audit-specific market (accessed 26 September 2026).
- G2: Optro (formerly AuditBoard) reviews — Optro’s G2 rating and review count (accessed 26 September 2026).
- Optro and Carahsoft partner for the public sector (PR Newswire, 22 September 2026) — the NASPO ValuePoint and OMNIA contract vehicles (accessed 26 September 2026).
- Onspring: Internal Audit Management Software — the audit product’s feature list (accessed 26 September 2026).
- Onspring: Flexible Pricing — the licensing models and Bronze-to-Platinum platform levels (accessed 26 September 2026).
- Onspring press release, 27 July 2026 — Agentic GRC, its use of Anthropic’s Claude and the Ryan Lougheed quote (accessed 26 September 2026).
- FedRAMP Marketplace: Onspring GovCloud — the authorized status, Moderate impact level and 27 March 2024 authorization date (accessed 26 September 2026).
- Vendr: Onspring pricing — median contract value, range and community notes (accessed 26 September 2026).
- G2: Onspring reviews — Onspring’s G2 rating and the counted pros and cons (accessed 26 September 2026).
- Gartner Peer Insights: Onspring — the vendor-wide rating across four markets (accessed 26 September 2026).
- Capterra: AuditBoard (Optro) reviews — Optro’s Capterra rating and review count (accessed 26 September 2026).
Related guides
- Internal audit software: the independent buyer’s guide — every review, comparison and buying guide in one place.
- How we review audit software — the evidence levels, the scorecard and the fit-by-situation method.
- The audit software shortlist finder — eight questions, a shortlist with the reasons from each review.
- The requirements matrix — 156 weighted requirements and vendor scoring in a free Excel workbook.
- Optro (formerly AuditBoard) review — the full review: modules, AI, pricing and user themes.
- Onspring review — the full review: the audit product, FedRAMP GovCloud, AI and pricing.
- Optro (AuditBoard) alternatives — ten options by team size and budget if Optro is not the fit.
- Onspring vs LogicGate vs Resolver — the mid-market GRC shortlist for audit teams, three ways.
- LogicGate vs Optro — the other no-code platform against the same audit-native suite.
- Optro vs TeamMate — AuditBoard’s successor against the audit classic.
- Optro vs Workiva — the comparison more buyers search for than this one.
- Optro vs Diligent One — GRC breadth against Diligent’s ACL analytics heritage.
- GRC suite vs standalone audit management software — the consolidation decision behind Onspring’s design.
- Internal audit software vs compliance automation — why Vanta and Drata are not on this shortlist at all.
- Internal audit software pricing — every price in this comparison, set beside the rest of the market.
- Types of internal audit software — where no-code GRC platforms and audit-native suites actually differ.
- Selecting an audit management system — the vendor-neutral RFP method to run before you sign either contract.
- The audit software demo script — 25 scenarios that make either vendor show, not tell.
Leave a Reply