,

Optro vs Archer: Audit-First SaaS Against the Enterprise GRC Platform

Optro (formerly AuditBoard) and Archer sit at opposite ends of how internal audit software gets bought. Optro is sold to the audit function directly, as a suite where internal audit is one of ten modules on an audit-native data model; Archer is sold to the enterprise as a shared risk, compliance and audit platform, where the internal audit module is one of eight and mostly inherits data the business and the second line already built. The search pairing (“auditboard vs archer”, “archer vs auditboard”) predates Optro’s name change and keeps recurring because it is really one decision dressed up as a vendor comparison: does internal audit buy and run its own system, or does it join whatever risk and compliance already run?

This comparison covers what each product actually is and who owns it, where the two differ on audit workflow depth, SOX, analytics, AI, reporting, integration and cost, how their scorecards and fit-by-situation ratings stack up side by side, and a worked five-year cost illustration built only from the public figures that exist for each. It draws on the site’s full Optro review and Archer review, sits inside the independent buyer’s guide to internal audit software, and follows the evidence levels and scorecard set out in how we review audit software. If you have already ruled out an enterprise GRC suite, Optro vs Workiva and Optro vs TeamMate compare Optro against its more direct audit-native rivals instead.

Verdict. Optro wins whenever internal audit is buying software for itself and wants a working, audit-native system with a real pricing benchmark to negotiate against. Archer wins only where a bank, insurer or other large regulated enterprise is already consolidating risk, compliance and audit onto Archer’s shared data model, or plans to. Choose Optro if audit owns the buying decision and the budget. Choose Archer if risk and compliance already run it, or are about to, and audit’s job is to inherit that data rather than stand up a system of its own.

Best for. Third-line functions deciding between a standalone, audit-native platform and joining a GRC suite the rest of the organization already runs or is about to adopt.

Not for. Buyers who have already ruled out an enterprise GRC suite and only want to compare Optro against other audit-native platforms, or a function already committed to Archer for risk and compliance that only needs to confirm audit should ride along; see Optro alternatives and Archer alternatives instead.

Evidence. Research-based: vendor documentation and release notes, public procurement records, third-party pricing data, verified user reviews on Gartner Peer Insights and G2, and analyst coverage. We have not used either product hands-on for this comparison.

Price evidence. Optro: Vendr’s buyer data, updated February 2026, puts the median contract at $45,947 a year (range $21,220 to $111,208). Archer: no public price list; its own AWS Marketplace listing shows a $9,999,999.00 placeholder and says pricing is not published, and Vendr has no median for Archer at all.

Last verified. 27 September 2026.

In this guide

Optro and Archer in one table

The table below sets the two products side by side before getting into where they actually diverge. Optro is a single company selling ten linked modules; Archer is one of eight modules on a much larger enterprise-risk platform, which is the root of nearly every difference that follows.

AttributeOptro (formerly AuditBoard)Archer
OwnerHg, a private-equity firm (agreed 23 May 2024, deal reported at more than $3 billion)Cinven, a private-equity firm (agreed 13 Apr 2023, closed 10 Jul 2023)
CategoryAudit-first SaaS suite; internal audit is one of ten modulesEnterprise GRC suite; internal audit is one of eight modules
HeadquartersLos Angeles area (Cerritos until 2024)Overland Park, Kansas
DeploymentCloud SaaS onlyClassic Archer (on-premises or SaaS) and Archer Evolv, a newer SaaS layer, coexisting
Audit-specific modulesInternal Audit (OpsAudit) and Controls Management (SOX, formerly SOXHUB), plus Autonomous TestingAudit Management only (Audit Planning & Quality; Audit Engagements & Workpapers; Issues Management); SOX sits in a separate module
Pricing modelPer core user and per module; stakeholder users free and unlimitedNot stated by the vendor; an AWS listing’s wording implies a negotiated, solution-plus-user-count model (our inference, not a vendor statement)
Price evidenceVendr median $45,947 a year (Feb 2026); West Virginia DOT bid $164,000 a year for 25 core usersNo public price list; AWS Marketplace shows a $9,999,999.00 placeholder; Vendr has no median, only a $100,000 legal-review threshold
GPI rating (Audit Management Solutions market)4.5 from 890 reviews4.3 from 36 reviews
G2 rating4.6 from about 1,613 reviews3.6 from 20 reviews

Two things stand out immediately. Optro has roughly 25 times Archer’s review volume in Gartner’s audit-specific market, which partly reflects how much longer and more broadly audit teams have bought it as a dedicated product rather than a shared-platform module; and Archer publishes no price anywhere we could find, where Optro’s number comes from 86 real purchases tracked by Vendr plus one detailed public bid. Everything that follows explains why.

Where they are different

The two products differ along seven lines that matter to a real evaluation, roughly in the order they tend to surface in one.

Audit workflow depth

Optro built OpsAudit as an audit department’s own tool from the start: a configurable universe, risk-aligned planning, reusable work programs, and the Annotate tickmarking feature that Capterra reviewers repeatedly single out for letting a reviewer trace which evidence supports which test step. Archer’s Audit Entity and Audit Plan apps scope and risk-assess against the same data model the rest of the enterprise uses, and its Audit Engagement app manages workpapers, testing and reporting cross-linked to that shared risk and control library — a real advantage where the data is current, and a real dependency where it is not. Archer’s own documentation describes workpaper management only as “unified” with “built-in workflows,” thinner detail than Optro publishes, and one help-center page on Issues Management did not render for our research at all. The risk and control matrix template is a useful yardstick for what either platform’s RCM-linked workpaper should carry.

SOX and controls

SOX is where the two products differ most structurally. Optro’s Controls Management module descends directly from SOXHUB, the company’s founding 2014 product, and ships an out-of-the-box SOX risk and control matrix and certification workflows tying 302 and 404 attestations to evidence; since the May 2026 Midship acquisition it also offers Autonomous Testing agents that the company says automate up to 87% of SOX program management, a claim worth testing on your own control population before relying on it. Archer has no standalone SOX product at all: financial-controls work, including “SOX narratives, 302 certifications, and PBC lists,” sits inside Regulatory & Corporate Compliance Management, a module separate from Audit Management that a SOX-driven buyer must also license, with no public statement on how that pairing affects price. A public company whose SOX program is the main driver gets a purpose-built product from Optro and a second module to negotiate from Archer. The site’s SOX 404 guide and control deficiency evaluation method cover what either system needs to support.

Analytics and AI

Neither product is a scripting environment, and both push analytics into no-code territory. Optro Analytics is drag-and-drop, with templates for anomaly detection and user access reviews, pulling from more than 150 integrations, and G2 reviewers consistently name analytics depth and customization as the platform’s weakest spot. Archer’s Audit Planning & Quality ships seven automated data feeds (auto-scoping, workpaper generation, trending) and reads directly from the shared risk and control model, but nothing in Archer’s own documentation describes a comparable no-code test library built for audit specifically.

On AI, both vendors moved fast between 2024 and 2026: Optro’s Accelerate (October 2025) added an Audit Agent for sampling and evidence annotation, and Midship (May 2026) added agentic SOX testing; Archer’s Evolv Foundation and Workplace (14 September 2026) added a marketplace of AI “Operators,” and Evolv AI Compliance (15 September 2026) runs guardrails inside the customer’s own AWS account so prompts and model weights stay isolated from Archer itself — the more concrete data-isolation statement of the two. Optro’s AI page separately states that it does not train on customer data and that its features are opt-in and logged; Archer has made no equivalent statement for most of its AI beyond that one September 2026 release. Treat every automation percentage from either vendor as a claim, not a result, per Gartner’s April 2026 warning to be wary of agent-washing; the guide to evaluating AI in audit software has the test protocol.

Reporting

Optro generates engagement reports from workpapers and fields, and its platform counts more than 25 pre-built, role-based dashboards plus a Power BI integration it once marketed as AuditBoard Intelligence; the company’s claim that audit committee report preparation time falls by up to 70% is its own, unverified figure. Archer’s reporting runs through platform-wide Workspaces and Dashboards — WYSIWYG and widget-based, with each widget carrying up to 15 reports or charts — which is capable general-purpose reporting but, in the documentation we read, nothing built specifically for an audit-committee audience. A function that reports heavily to its audit committee gets a more finished, audit-shaped output from Optro; a function already standardizing dashboards enterprise-wide inherits Archer’s general reporting layer for audit almost for free.

Integration and the shared-data question

This is the structural difference the whole comparison turns on. Optro connects outward to more than 150 named systems (Okta, Workday, Snowflake and Oracle among them) and, since April 2026, exposes an MCP server so a customer’s own large language models can query live Optro data within user permissions — but every one of those connections is built for audit’s own use. Archer’s advantage runs the other way: Audit Management does not connect to outside systems so much as read the same risk, compliance, IT-security and third-party data that Enterprise & Operational Risk Management, Regulatory & Corporate Compliance Management and the rest of Archer’s eight modules already maintain, with no re-entry. That is the entire case for Archer over a standalone tool: one issue register spanning audit, risk and compliance, one control library tested once. It is also the entire case against buying Archer for audit alone, since a function with no existing Archer footprint elsewhere is paying into a platform’s worth of integration it cannot yet use. The GRC suite versus standalone audit management comparison works through this trade-off independent of either vendor.

Implementation and administration

Optro’s own reviewers describe implementations as quick when the scope is modest, with a real caveat from large-organization reviewers on TrustRadius that an established methodology needs genuine configuration work first; the West Virginia bid priced implementation at $50,000 for a 25-user rollout, and several Gartner Peer Insights reviewers say the self-serve administration model leaves administrators short after go-live. Archer runs implementation almost entirely through partners, including a named Deloitte alliance from October 2025 covering strategy, build and change management, and publishes no timeline, admin-staffing model or migration-tooling figure of its own for Evolv. Practically: budget a named administrator at a fifth to a third of a role for Optro’s first year, and budget a partner-led, multi-quarter rollout for Archer, especially where Regulatory & Corporate Compliance Management has to be configured alongside Audit Management for a SOX program. Neither vendor publishes a figure precise enough to hold either to in an RFP; ask for one in writing.

Cost and contract transparency

Optro publishes no list price either, but three independent sources triangulate a real number; Archer has effectively none.

Source and dateOptro figureArcher figure
Vendr marketplaceMedian $45,947 a year, range $21,220 to $111,208, 86 purchases (Feb 2026)No median or range; only a $100,000 threshold that triggers Vendr’s legal review (27 Sep 2026)
Public procurementWest Virginia DOT bid (Nov 2023): $164,000 a year for 25 core users and unlimited stakeholders; $50,000 implementation; $990,750 over five years including allowancesNo public procurement award with a dollar figure found
Marketplace listingNot applicable; no comparable placeholder listing foundAWS Marketplace: a $9,999,999.00 placeholder line; the listing states pricing is not published
Pricing modelPer core user and per module; stakeholders free and unlimitedNot stated; an AWS listing’s wording implies a negotiated, solution-plus-user-count model (our inference)

The practical consequence: an RFP against Optro can start from a real benchmark and negotiate escalators down from Vendr’s reported 3 to 7% a year; an RFP against Archer has to build the benchmark from scratch, which is exactly why a structured, vendor-neutral RFP method matters more for Archer than for almost any other product this guide reviews. The internal audit software pricing guide puts both sets of figures next to every other vendor’s.

Head to head: the scorecard

The scorecard uses the twelve areas described on the method page, plus vendor viability, exactly as rated in each product’s own review; nothing has been re-graded for this comparison.

AreaOptroArcher
Risk assessment and planningStrong — configurable universe, risk-aligned plans, resourcingStrong — Audit Entity and Plan apps scope against shared data
Engagement workflowStrong — reusable work programs, role-based workflowsStrong — Audit Engagement app, cross-linked to the shared library
Workpapers and evidenceStrong — Annotate tickmarking, audit logs, version controlAdequate — unified in the Audit Engagement app; Issues Management detail unverified
Issues and follow-upStrong — platform-wide register, Workstream surveysStrong — dedicated Issues Management app across audit, risk and compliance
ReportingStrong — 25+ dashboards, Power BI integrationAdequate — general Workspaces and Dashboards; no audit-committee pack found
SOX and controls testingStrong — out-of-the-box RCM, certifications, Autonomous TestingAdequate — real capability, but a separate module to license
Analytics and automationAdequate — no-code only; a leading G2 complaintAdequate — seven data feeds and a REST API; no scripting layer
AI featuresStrong — dated feature line since 2024; published no-training statementAdequate — dense feature line since 2024; one concrete data-isolation statement
Quality program supportAdequate — templates enforce methodology; no QAIP module foundLimited — three QA questionnaires bundled; no QAIP metrics module found
Auditee experienceStrong — unlimited stakeholder licenses, Teams notificationsLimited — no audit-specific request portal found
Administration, integrations and securityStrong — SAML 2.0, SCIM, SOC 1 and 2, ISO 27001; FedRAMP is a requirements claim onlyStrong — SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001, 27017 and 27701; no FedRAMP found
Cost and contractAdequate — no list price, but a real Vendr median existsLimited — no public price list at all
Vendor viabilityStrong — Hg-owned, more than $300 million ARR claimed, new CEO in 2025Adequate — Cinven-backed, but three ownership changes since 2020

The pattern is consistent: Optro rates Strong in ten of thirteen rows and Archer in four, and every Archer row that drops to Limited — quality program support, auditee experience, cost and contract — reflects a genuine audit-specific gap in a platform built primarily for risk and compliance, not evidence we simply could not find.

Fit by situation, side by side

Fit ratings are set centrally across this guide and used here exactly as published in each product’s own review, so they can be compared directly.

SituationOptroArcher
First system for a small team (1 to 5 auditors)WorkablePoor fit
Mid-size function (6 to 25 auditors)Strong fitPoor fit
Large or global function (25+ auditors)Strong fitStrong fit
SOX-heavy public companyStrong fitWorkable
Bank or credit unionStrong fitStrong fit
Public sector, higher education or nonprofitWorkableWorkable
Analytics-heavy teamWorkableWorkable
Consolidating GRC across the three linesStrong fitStrong fit

The two ratings converge exactly where the logic predicts: both are Strong fits for large functions, banks and enterprise-wide GRC consolidation, and both are only Workable for public-sector and analytics-heavy teams, for the same reason in each case — procurement vehicles exist but no FedRAMP authorization does, and neither has a scripting layer. They diverge hardest at the small end: Optro is at least Workable for a five-person team with a real, if unpublished, price floor near $21,000 a year, while Archer is a Poor fit twice over, for teams of five and for teams of twenty-five, because nothing about Archer’s pricing, self-service path or shared-data dependency serves a function that has not already built the risk and compliance data it would inherit.

Total cost of ownership over five years

A worked cost illustration is only honest where public numbers exist to build one. They exist for Optro; they do not for Archer, and that gap is itself the finding.

Cost componentOptro (25 core users, one module)Archer
Year 1 subscription$164,000No public figure
Years 2 to 5 subscription (flat, per the bid)$656,000No public figure
Implementation$50,000No public figure
Services and allowances beyond the base subscriptionIncluded in the bid’s reported totalNo public figure
Five-year total$990,750, as reported in the bidNo public figure exists; only Vendr’s $100,000 legal-review threshold, which is not a price

Three labeled assumptions sit under the Optro figure: it is a single bid response to a state transportation department from November 2023, not a confirmed award or a universal rate; it covers 25 core users, unlimited stakeholders and one module, with Controls Management, Autonomous Testing and the other modules priced as separate lines; and Vendr’s own negotiation notes suggest a buyer who commits to multiple years or several modules together should expect the total to move materially, in either direction, depending on module count and negotiated escalators of 3 to 7% a year. No equivalent illustration can responsibly be built for Archer: no procurement record, marketplace listing or buyer-reported deal data gives a real figure to start from, and the RFP process itself is the only way to get one. That asymmetry, not the dollar amount, is the number worth taking into the negotiation.

Moving between them

One direction is far more common than the other. Functions that outgrow a spreadsheet-and-SharePoint setup, or that are leaving TeamMate or a homegrown tool, choose Optro directly, because it is sold to audit and can go live without waiting on risk or compliance to buy in. The other direction — a function moving from a standalone audit tool onto Archer — almost never happens because audit wants it; it happens because the enterprise decides to consolidate risk, compliance and audit onto one GRC platform, and audit’s existing tool becomes redundant as a side effect. Neither vendor publishes bulk-import tooling aimed at the other’s export format: Optro’s West Virginia bid confirms exports in ZIP, PDF and CSV, which covers a workpaper archive well enough to bring into almost anything, but nothing in the pages we read describes a purpose-built Archer importer for Optro data, or the reverse. In practice, most of what moves is the audit universe, the current control library and open issues; prior-year workpapers usually go into a read-only archive rather than a live migration. Whichever direction you are headed, the implementing audit management software guide has the first-120-days sequence, and the demo script has scenarios worth running against whichever system you are leaving before you sign the one you are joining.

Our recommendation

Buy Optro if internal audit is the buyer, the budget sits inside the audit function or a shared risk-and-compliance line it controls, and the program’s center of gravity is SOX, operational audit, or both together. It is the safer default for six-to-twenty-five-person functions, for SOX-heavy public companies, and for banks and credit unions that are not already deep into Archer for other reasons, and its Vendr-benchmarked pricing gives a real number to negotiate from.

Buy Archer if the organization is already running it, or has already decided to run it, for enterprise risk and compliance, and internal audit’s job is to get a seat on that platform rather than build a separate one. It is the right call for large or global functions inside a bank or insurer where the shared risk-and-control data is a genuine asset, and the wrong call — an expensive way to buy a workflow tool with a whole platform attached — for any function trying to solve an audit-only problem.

For everyone else: a function of one to five auditors, or a public-sector, higher-education or nonprofit buyer that needs a confirmed FedRAMP authorization rather than a stated hosting requirement, should look past both. The Optro alternatives and Archer alternatives pages, and the site’s best internal audit software roundup, have the lighter and heavier options in both directions.

Questions about Optro and Archer

Is Optro the same company as AuditBoard?

Yes. AuditBoard announced on 9 March 2026 that it had become Optro; the products, contracts and ownership continued unchanged. Archer has had no equivalent rename, though its product line began inside RSA Security and is still sometimes called RSA Archer in older listings and reviews.

Which is cheaper, Optro or Archer?

Optro has a real, if unpublished, benchmark: Vendr’s data puts the median contract at $45,947 a year. Archer has none at all — no list price, no Vendr median, and an AWS Marketplace listing whose $9,999,999.00 figure is an evident placeholder. That does not mean Archer costs more for every buyer, since its price depends heavily on how many other Archer modules an organization already owns, but it does mean you cannot compare the two on price without first getting Archer’s number in writing.

Can an organization run both Optro and Archer at once?

It happens, though rarely by design. A bank running Archer for enterprise risk and compliance may still let internal audit keep or add Optro if Archer’s audit module does not meet the function’s needs, accepting two systems and a manual bridge between their issue registers. It is a real option worth pricing before assuming the enterprise platform’s audit module is good enough, but it is not the efficient outcome either vendor is selling.

Does either vendor’s AI train on our data?

Optro’s AI page states plainly that it does not use customer data to train its models, that data ownership stays with the customer, and that AI features are opt-in and logged. Archer has published an equivalent statement for only one feature, Evolv AI Compliance (15 September 2026), which runs inside the customer’s own AWS account; for its earlier AI features, including Assurance AI and AI Governance, no data-use, retention or opt-out statement was found. Get whichever answer you need in writing before enabling any AI feature on real workpapers.

Is either product FedRAMP authorized?

No, in both cases, as far as the public documentation shows. Optro’s trust pages say hosting meets FedRAMP Moderate impact requirements, which is a requirements statement, not an authorization; Archer’s security documentation makes no FedRAMP or GovRAMP claim at all despite a dedicated Public Sector module. Federal buyers should ask both vendors directly for an authorization letter or a sponsoring agency rather than inferring one from either page.

Which one is right for a bank or credit union?

Both rate Strong fit for banks in this guide’s method, for different reasons. Archer has the deeper bank base — it claims 37 of the top 50 global banks as customers — and the shared-data advantage where risk and compliance already run it. Optro has FDICIA support, named bank references and a lower, benchmarked price if the bank wants audit’s own system rather than a module inside a larger platform it may not otherwise need. The choice again comes down to whether Archer is already, or about to become, the enterprise’s risk and compliance platform.

internalauditguide.com has no commercial relationship with Optro, Archer or any other vendor named on this page. We take no vendor money, run no affiliate links and accept no sponsored placements, and no vendor saw this page before publication. Product and company names are the trademarks of their owners. Corrections: desk@internalauditguide.com.

Sources and verification

New guides & tools by email

Useful so far?

There are 400+ more guides where this came from. Get new guides, templates and free audit tools by email when they ship. No schedule, no filler.

Free. One confirmation email from WordPress.com, then you’re in. Unsubscribe anytime.

New guides & tools by email

Don’t lose this library.

400+ practitioner-written guides and free tools. Hear when new ones land.

One confirmation email from WordPress.com, then you’re in. Unsubscribe anytime.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Discover more from internalauditguide.com

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading